Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I make these whenever I have bananas that are darker than what my family likes to eat. I feel they are a little dry so I add 1 tbsp of veg. oil. Overall I think they are very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Pretty good but still need a little tweaking. I added an extra tsp. of vanilla, 1/2 c. applesauce, 1/4 cup milk and sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top before baking. I will make again, but I think I'll add an extra banana next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
good muffins. I used white flour, and added 1/4 cup milk and 2 eggs instead of whites. I topped with 1/3 cup nuts, 1/3 cup brown sugard and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I also added extra blueberries. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
These are DELICIOUS! i modified the recipe a bit, per recommendations below... I don't like to measure exactly soooo aside from the eggs, my substitutions are approximations: 2 egg whites and one whole egg, split the flour 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white, added a dash of salt, added 1/4 C. unsweet applesauce and 1/4 - 1/3 C light soy milk, and i used frozen blueberries, probably more than called for! I rinsed the berries in warm water to get some ice off them, then tossed them with maybe a Tbs of flour before folding them into the batter. I only had 3 almost over-ripe bananas but it worked well, also used 1/3 C PACKED dark brown sugar. After pouring to the muffin pan, I sprinkled a little Demerara cane sugar on top of each. They cooked quickly and rose really well so don't over-fill muffin pan! GREAT flavor, moist, perfect with a little bit of butter while still warm =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Ok muffins, lacked some flavor, and didn't rise very well. If I were to do these again, I would add about 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I could be wrong, but I don't see the need for the baking soda, since there are very few acid producing ingredients in the recipe (perhaps this might have contributed to a lack of sufficient rising). You may get better rising results by eliminating the baking soda altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsjets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I might try using 1/2 wheat 1/2 white flour next time. I added both milk and oil to try and get the batter a bit thinner. I also used muffin cup liners and 1/4 of the muffin sticks to them. I guess they were OK but not a fav for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These are surprisingly yummy, considering all the ingredients are wholesome, healthy ones. No, they're not chocolate cupcakes, but my kids and I eat them up! I've made these 4 or 5 times now and I follow the recipe exactly. They freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POLAR BEAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
It was alright. The kids ate it, my husbend and I where not to happy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
For all you recipe-purists out there, don't hate me.. but I made about a million changes to this recipe. Used AP flour (that's all I had), 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/3 cup ground flaxseed, 1/3 cup rolled oats, 4 medium bananas, 3/4 cup soymilk, 3T applesauce, 2 whole eggs + 1 egg white, and 2 cups fresh blueberries. I also added a not-so-healthy streusel to the tops of the muffins consisting of 1/2 c flour, 1/2 c brown sugar, 4T butter, 1/4 c granola, 1/4 c rolled oats. Baked at 335 for 16 minutes. The result was a moist, slightly sweet muffin with a sinfully delightful crunch topping. YUMMMMM. The only problem is that the muffin sticks to the paper liner and you lose a lot of it when eating it. I don't know how to avoid that. I'll probably use this recipe a lot for a fairly simple and healthy way to use leftover bananas- plus you can sub the blueberries for a variety other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
not much flavor, needs salt maybe some dried cranberrys for a tart flavor, won't be making again unless I ALTER the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States