Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I did not care for these. Thankfully I halved the recipe on the first try.. They are tasteless, dry, and there are many better recipes for your ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Family Approved. The kids devoured these. I realized after the fact that there was no butter or oil and it really was moist. I used 1/2 cup egg whites from a container. Added granulated sugar just on the top b4 baking. B/c the batter came out thick, I scooped a lil in the cupliner, then added 3 large blueberries, added more batter, then 3 more and then one more layer of batter. The blue berries did not break or turn the batter purple. It's a really good recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Although I was able to taste the baking powder and will reduce the quantity of that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These muffins are okay, but not great. I made it as stated, except my bananas only yielded 1 cup so I added some applesauce to make the 1 1/2 cups. I also used two whole eggs instead of the 4 egg whites. They were a bit too heavy for my kids due to the fact that these are made with all whole wheat flour. If I make them again, I will probably use 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour. Overall, it is a healthy recipe with close to 1/2 fruit serving in every muffin. I like the fact that there is no added oil, yet they were still very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMISSNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I followed the recipe (using frozen blueberries), and these came out bland. I think they may have needed more sugar, and a little bit of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I'm really didn't taste the banana or the blueberries. What Iv'e done to the blueberries and all the recipes with blueberries is Iv'e rolled them in dough because if you don't it will make the dough all blue. It was fairly easy to make and I'm 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These turned out great! I couldn't find my reg recipe, so I did a search for a quick and easy one and found this one. I used 2 cups of banana, because that's how much I had. Used pastry flour (2 cups, plus 2 tbls), because again, that's what I had. Chocolate chips instead of blueberries and the kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
These were good and I probably will make them again for myself. That being said, the whole wheat flavor was incredibly strong, and the muffins were dry. If you want a moist flavorful muffin this is not the recipe for you. I was the only one in the family that liked them, though everyone did eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I like recipes that are health-ified and still taste good. Unfortunately, this one didn't meet our taste standards. To be fair, I made some changes - substituted 1/2 white flour, used 2 yolks and 3 egg whites, and used brown sugar Splenda blend, in hopes that I could turn out a reasonably healthy but still tasty muffin. It tasted like wheat bread with blueberries. I will grudgingly finish them, but my son said they tasted "yucky". I will stick with the "Lighter Banana Muffins" from this website and try adding blueberries to it. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My boyfriend loves these. The only thing I changed was I used two large eggs instead of the four egg-whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States