Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I will make these again. Not sure about the frosting, but the bars themselves were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
these are really good and moist. don't make the frosting to sugarie try a cream cheese frosting taste really good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerbell_scarlet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendall
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
What a wonderful recipe. I was looking for an alternative to banana bread. This was delicious. My husband absolutely loved it. The only thing I did different was I used a glaze rather than frosting, but I am sure the frosting would have been just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Outstanding! I added an extra banana for extra banana flavor. I also left out the lemon juice and nuts because I didn't have any, and it was still great. I would definitely double this for a 9x13 dish, otherwise I think they're too thin of a bar. I topped these with a banana/milk chocolate/cream cheese frosting. I made a basic cream cheese frosting, added one mashed banana, and about 3/4 cup milk chocolate chip, melted. My husband couldn't eat this fast enough! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I'm sort of up in the air as to how many stars to give this recipe. I went w/ 5 because when it comes down to it, I probably could have eaten half the pan and I like that the recipe only calls for one banana...unlike banana bread which usually calls for at least 3.It is a great alternative when you don't have that many around. I didn't make the frosting since I was out of bananas and the bars themselves taste pretty much like banana bread, only a little sweater. I did add about 1 tsp of banana extract along w/ the vanilla. Otherwise, I stayed true to the recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe is fabulous!!! I followed the recipe exactly except I did add more bananas. I wanted to make this on a large sheet cake pan, so I doubled the recipe and the bananas! I didn't use the icing, because these were delicious with out it! Best Banana bars I have ever had! Thanks for sharing this Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Our family thought these bars were tooth-achingly sweet -- and that wasn't a good thing! I even reduced the sugar in the frosting and that didn't really make a difference. I'll keep looking for a new banana dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I was in a pinch before grocery day and needed a recipe for breakfast muffins without eggs. I prepared this batter before I went to bed and made muffins out of it first thing in the morning. They tasted wonderful but the ones we ate right out of the oven completely crumbled in our hands. We had the leftovers later that day and they were much better. Tasted JUST like banana bread but they were very soft and delicate. I altered the recipe just a bit because I was afraid they wouldn't rise properly after sitting in the fridge all night so I included both baking soda and baking powder. I also added about 1/2 tsp of butter flavoring. The batter was a little bit too much for 12 muffins. I filled them too full trying to use it all up and ended up with big flat muffin tops that stuck to the pan. Maybe next time I'll do 2 batches of mini-muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
These were just so-so for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I LIKE THIS RECIPE, MADE IT LAST NIGHT, BUT THE ICING TURNED VERY HARD ON TOP OF THE CAKE I MADE THEM INTO CUPCAKES AND ADDED SOME STAR SPRINKLES TO GET THE KIDS TO EAT THEM. MY HUSBAND ALSO ENJOYED THEM. KIDS HAVE YET TO TRY THEM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DPER83

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States