Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Great bars, however the frosting did not make nearly enough in my opinion...had to spread very very thin, sprinkled lots of walnuts on top to hide the lack of frosting. Next time I would double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I LOVE THESE! I seriously could eat the entire batch because they are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I loved these bars! Brought a pan to work and they were gone within 20 minutes! I made one small change, I added cherries and crushed pineapple to the frosting. Will make these again whenever I have ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladygrenadine
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
these were so easy to make! 2 minor changes though, I doubled the banana, used 2 in the bar and 1 in the icing! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladygrenadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
In our house we call this banana cake. It is much more of a cake than a bar. After you make this you will ever want to make banana bread again. this recipe is amazing. I use three bananas instead of one and my family does not like walnuts so i leave those out. I have tried it with no icing, the banana icing, chocolate icing and brown butter icing, and it is good every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I used margarine instead of shortening and soymilk instead of regular milk and cut out the nuts. They tasted really good, but they were more like cake than bar cookies. They seemed to turn a little brown after sitting out for a while so they probably need to be refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Kids loved it. Doubled recipe and used 5 bananas. All else as written. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Good recipe when you only have a couple ripe bananas. I would have preferred something denser from a "bar" recipe. But my family enjoyed these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eristrawberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatlesFan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I did recipe almost exactly as submitted except for the following: *I only had 1% milk, so I added a couple of T. of sour cream. *Sprinkled some cinnamon and nutmeg to the dry mixture. *Used 1 1/2 bananas in the batter. I made these last night and all but one bar (that I am saving for my hubby) were eaten by 7pm! My mom went crazy over these and my friend kept saying "delicious" over and over. This is an awesome recipe and is one of the few that I have found that calls for only two bananas- which is perfect if you only have a few you are trying to use up. This is a keeper and I will be making again- in fact, I plan on buying some bananas right away for the purpose of letting them ripen for this recipe! I loved the texture and the icing is heavenly with the taste of the fresh banana. If you wanted to do a lighter version you wouldn't have to have the icing, but, man, is it good! Great submission!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States