Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were really good. I used 2 bananas, no lemon juice or walnuts. I didn't make the frosting. The bars are very sweet, and I don't think they need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was very easy to make, and tasted good. The only change I made was to add a whole banana to the icing because I didn't want to have half a ripe banana left over. The cake was a little dry, so I may add some sour cream next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This should really be called banana cake not banana bars. It is definitely more like cake. This was a huge hit for Easter Sunday-a little crumbly and messy but tasted awesome.I did not have shortening so I used butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
The bars were amazing! Almost like banana bread. I'm not too thrilled with the frosting though. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to it hoping it would help and I think next time I'll find a different frosting for them. If not, the bars are great alone...maybe with some vanilla icecream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These bars are easy to make and very moist. I added a little extra banana because we love the taste. This is definitely a keeper for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Awesome recipe!! This will be a new family favorite for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
THE best banana bars I've ever had! Made the recipe as-is, and it turned out perfectly. I got rave reviews from my family at our annual New Years Eve get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fausterlady
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Awesome! Love the banana in the frosting! I also added some pecans, sunflower seeds and mini chocolate chips the last time I made these! Big hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
these were good with modifications! i added an extra banana, used 1/3c b sugar 2/3c white sugar, added 1/2t cinnamon, 2 dashes ginger and a dash nutmeg and baked in a 9x9 pan, which took long to bake, and it got VERY golden brown, but was terrific! these would be very skinny if put in a 9x13 pan i would think. my only regret being adding choc chips to it! it took away from the great banana taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica051

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Thanks for a great recipe! Gave my sweety a choice between this or banana bread and he chose this. He picked well. I did use half vanilla extract & half banana extract and I forgot the lemon juice in the icing (maybe that is why is was so much sweeter than the bars) but they still turned out well. Will definitely use this one again and I saved it to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States