Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
they were..ok....kids did not really take to them & neither did I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Bo Beary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Used 1/2C honey and about 1/3C sugar, and two bananas. Had fresh lime juice on hand, so used that in place of lemon. Baked in an 8x8" pan and wouldn't want to try it in a 13x9". The frosting is awesome. We were very pleased with these bars, but I think the honey definitely kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These are the best!! I have made them several times and always get raves. I use pecans instead of walnuts because that is what I prefer and always double the recipe for a 9x13 pan. Also use applesauce for half if not all of shortening with great results. Better if made the night before. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surgerygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were really good. I used 2 bananas, no lemon juice or walnuts. I didn't make the frosting. The bars are very sweet, and I don't think they need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was very easy to make, and tasted good. The only change I made was to add a whole banana to the icing because I didn't want to have half a ripe banana left over. The cake was a little dry, so I may add some sour cream next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This should really be called banana cake not banana bars. It is definitely more like cake. This was a huge hit for Easter Sunday-a little crumbly and messy but tasted awesome.I did not have shortening so I used butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
The bars were amazing! Almost like banana bread. I'm not too thrilled with the frosting though. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to it hoping it would help and I think next time I'll find a different frosting for them. If not, the bars are great alone...maybe with some vanilla icecream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These bars are easy to make and very moist. I added a little extra banana because we love the taste. This is definitely a keeper for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Awesome recipe!! This will be a new family favorite for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
THE best banana bars I've ever had! Made the recipe as-is, and it turned out perfectly. I got rave reviews from my family at our annual New Years Eve get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States