Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
OH MY GOD!! These are OUTSTANDING!! I took the advice of some of the other reviews and did 2/3 c Brown Sugar, 1 Egg, and 2 Bananas. For the icing (even though some people said it was better without it) I cut the powdered sugar down to 1 cup (to prevent it from being SUPER sweet) and added a bit more banana (about 3/4) to the icing. My god, this was FANTASTIC! However, because it is autumn and pumpkin is what is eaten around this time, I made this again using 1 c Fresh Pumpkin Puree, 3/4 tsp Clove, 1/2 tsp Allspice, a Heaping tsp of Cinnamon, and 3/4 tsp of Nutmeg and it came out EVEN BETTER THAN THE BANANA!! :D Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I absolutely loved these! I was a bit afraid to make them after all of the horrible reviews but They were phenominal! I will definietly make these again. I decreased the shortening to 1/4+1/2 of a 1/4 cup butter, decreased the sugar to 1/3+1/2 of a 1/3 cup, added an egg, used whole wheat flour, used 3 bananas, and omitted the lemon juice and walnuts. Yummy! I also only made 1/2 of the frosting and used a whole banana in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie_271

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Needs a lot of tweeking. I added an egg like many suggested, my suggestion would be to either double the recipe for a 13 x 9 pan or bake in an 8 x 8 pan, way thin in the suggested pan. I would also add a half teaspoon of banana extract. I made my own frosting - a maple banana cream cheese icing, it really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I don't know what all the negative comments were about. These things are awesome!! The icing isn't a true icing at best. It is meant to be more of a glaze which is fine, I like that. The bars aren't meant to be thick, that would make them more like cake or a brownie and that isn't what they are, they are a BAR. Thin and to the point. I like bananas but this made me really love them. I use it as a quick breakfast to go with my coffee when I am in a rush. I have made them 4 times now and I think they are great. You need the lemon juice to prevent the bananas from turning brown, even after you bake them they will still turn. Don't omit any thing, its there for a reason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was an exceptional recipe. The only changes I made was based on other reviews comments, such as adding 2 bananas instead of 1. This made the banana flavor really come alive. The finished product was like banana bread with more fluffiness. No frosting is needed to make this recipe fantastic as it already is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was a very tasty recipe, though I followed some of the recommendations in the comments. I used butter instead of shortening and had 4 small very ripe bananas on hand, so used all of them. I also used brown sugar instead of white and left out the lemon juice. Also, I did not glaze or frost these. In fact, I would reduce the sugar on these next time to about 1/2 cup. I prefer things less sweet. I had to bake an additional 10 minutes to get them done all the way. Probably due to the extra bananas. Great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
this is o.k. I think I'm looking for a banana bar with some spice to it, I baked it for 30 min instead of 20min, but my family didn't think it was great so I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very good. Skipped the frosing, dusted with powdered sugar. I used 2 bananas, rice milk, no nuts, applesauce instead of shortening, a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon, some freshly grated nutmeg, and 1 Tbs ground flax seed mixed w/3 Tbs water (some reveiwers mentioned adding an egg, this is my normal substitute.)I used a 9 X 7 pan and baked for 25 minutes. The "bars" (really just a "snack" cake) came out moist, springy and delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I can't rate the cake itself because I'm giving it to my parents, but I can tell you that it was easy to make, it smells wonderful and it looks beautiful in the pan! I used a 7x11 pan so it is a little thicker and I also added an extra banana and the last egg I had in the refrigerator to use it up. I did taste the frosting and it's sweet, but isn't frosting supposed to be? But since I'm not a frosting lover I only used about 1/2 of it. It has wonderful banana flavor though. I am going to let a batch of bananas turn this weekend so that I can make it again, this time for us, and will come back to rate the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States