Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
No eggs, no baking powder required! :) Used butter instead of shortening, 1/2 cup brown sugar vs. 1 cup white sugar, buttermilk vs. milk, added 1/2 tspn cinnamon, omitted nuts, upped bananas from 1 to 2 1/2 & used an electric mixer to blend. Too lazy for icing! Tastes great! Might try more sugar & cinnamon next time...very bready flat bar. Ono recipe - my version wasn't overtly sweet as some reviews had claimed. Might try orange zest next time...?! ALOHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
These were OK. Not really what I was expecting. I think it would be better if the cake were more bananaey and then a nice lemon icing on top IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Wonderful change from banana bread! Was kinda scared due to some of the ratings but these were DELICIOUS! I used 2 bananas and substitued brown sugar for the white. Would be just great without the icing will add golden raisins next time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
We absolutely love these!! So much in fact that I made a second pan of them this afternoon after the first I made disapeared within 48 hours. One thing that I did differently on the second batch is cut the frosting in half adding a bit more lemon juice as it was a bit too sweet for our tastes with all of the recipe's frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Delicious and easy to prepare. What more could a cook as for? I didn't like the idea of banana in the frosting, so I left out the banana and the salt, then added a little milk to thin out the frosting to more of a glaze consistency. My husband just loves them. Great recipe. Definitely try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
These bars are really yummy! It is hard to eat just one!! Next time I make them I will add golden raisins (or regular raisins) to the recipe. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I've made these banana bars twice in two days for two groups of people and people raved. I'm keeping it in my permanent file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
These were ok, the taste, though, was a little too bananaey, and it kind of made me sick. I'd rather make banana bread with my ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Very easy to make! Excellent and light! Added extra banana to the batter and some brown sugar. Next time would add less sugar. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I thought these were good but not anything special. I considered this recipe more of a cake than cookies or bars and the frosting was a little too sweet. I was suprised to find out that one of my kids thought this was just okay and the other one did not like at all. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 121-130 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States