Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I was out of eggs, but needed a way to use just 2 bananas which were past their prime. I replaced half the shortening with butter and, instead of making the frosting (out of powdered sugar as well), used both of the bananas in the batter. Turned out very moist and once cooled, could be cut into bars. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
These bars were wonderful! We liked the walnuts but I might add Choc. chips next time. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I found this to be a little dense - more like banana bread than a cake or bar. The flavor is good, although I added an extra banana as per reviews from this site. I also omitted the frosting and used the fluffy peanut butter frosting from this site instead - great flavor combination! This recipe was a good way to use my over ripe bananas but I don't think I will try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Pretty good, easy to whip up. My husband came home with enough bananas to feed all the monkeys in the Bronx Zoo so I am making every thing banana I can find. This is tasty and the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
The bars are really good. I like how there is so little fat in the recipe. I did use 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 cup sugar. I did not however like the frosting. It had the consistancy of the raw bread batter to me and was not appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Pretty tasty. I followed some previous advice and replaced half of the white sugar with brown, added an egg and upped the bananas. They had a little too much banana flavor for me (I used 2 1/2) but my husband and daughter gobbled them up. Would be really good with chocolate chips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Phenomenal! I really enjoyed this recipe! I used 3 bananas for the cake and a whole banana for the frosting. Added about 1tsp cinnamon, as I always do with banana bread recipes. The frosting was more of a glaze for me, which I think may actually be better...not so thick and rich. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Good basic idea for a recipe. Having to change it this much means it is basically a different recipe entirely which is why I gave this particular version 2 stars, the new and improved version would definitely be a 5. I used 3 small bananas in the bars, I added an egg, I cut back to sugar to 2/3 of a cup, no salt, no lemon juice, no walnuts although they would be nice, my preference is pecans which would also be good. They baked at 350 for 20 minutes. The frosting IMO is too much, just too sweet and not really necessary with the great banana taste of the bars themselves. So I frosted first, then scraped most of it off, leaving a very thin almost glaze like covering, which is how they will be made next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLLEWIS1214
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Definitely a keeper! I loved the recipe and my kids devoured 2 of them right away. I did make changes based on previous reviews. I replaced shortening with 1/4 cup butter. Reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. Added 1 egg. Used 2 ripe bananas. Added 1/4 tsp cinnamon. For the frosting I only needed 1 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar and omitted the salt. They just turned out so good and moist. The frosting adds a perfect touch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEWIS1214

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Very tasty and super moist. I followed the recommendations of others: used butter (1/4 cup) in place of the shortening, used more bananas (3 small) and added an egg and a teaspoon of cinnamon. We did not even bother with the icing - they were a huge hit without it. Thanks for another great way to use up my VERY ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States