Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I followed recommendations from Krista W. using butter not shortening, 2/3C brown sugar instead of white sugar, added 1 egg and used 3 overripe bananas. I would definitely make these again. I made cream cheese frosting (not too sweet) and sprinkled crushed walnuts on top. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I added two bananas instead of quoted one banana. Would suggest,to either double recipe, as they were not thick enough. This recipe would be best baked in a 8" square baking dish. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very good! I did make some changes based on other reviews and what I had on hand. I doubled the recipe and added cinnamon and an egg. Found I was short on flour, so used 1 1/2 cups each of all purpose wheat and oat flour. I added 2 teaspoons of baking powder. Skipped the frosting and dusted with powdered sugar after baking 35 minutes. Took it to a neighborhood gathering and served it with ice cream. It didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Personally I want mine to be dense. I used 1 1/2 bananas and I could barely taste them. IF I attempt this recipe again, I would use at least 2 large bananas and add an extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't change a thing. They are a great afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Needed a recipe to use up ripe bananas I had but that didn't use eggs. This did the trick! I skipped the frosting and made a coffee cake streusel topping for the top instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I doubled this recipe, substituted half the shortening with applesauce, omitted the milk (the applesauce made the batter very moist), cut back on the sugar and used chocolate chips in place of the walnuts (I love chocolate!). I did not bother with the frosting. Everybody (kids and adults) enjoyed this one. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I stayed pretty true to this recipe to see how it stood on its own before altering it as heavily as many reviewers did here. I must say, I don't see why everyone thought this needed so many changes! It's quite good already! The only things I did change were the following: I used two bananas, but this was mainly because I had two left and needed to use both; I did not add walnuts or any nuts as I didn't have any; I baked in a 8x8 pan instead of a 9x13; I also didn't make the frosting, but that was due to lack of time. At the end, they tasted lovely and turned out very moist, fluffy, and had the perfect amount of banana flavor. I disagree that this recipe needs an egg, or one of the hundred other additions/substitutions, because as it is, it's a good treat. I will rate 4/5 stars though, because I do think 2 bananas instead of 1 adds more flavor and makes it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I also tried this recipe and altered it. I was scared to do it, but I used 1/4 c. butter and 1/4 cup homemade applesauce. I added an egg too and 2 bananas, lessened the sugar to 2/3 using 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar.....it turned out amazing and the frosting is really good too which I added a whole banana instead of 1/2. It's very banana-ey and really is terrific. I've never tried altering a baking recipe and I'm pleased my instincts were sound on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
As the recipe is written, the bars end up rather thin and slightly dry. That noted, it's a really good recipe and to be honest, I downed the last five bars after my family went to sleep, so they must have been pretty good. I would prepare this again and probably double the batch so the bars are thicker. The volume of frosting is barely enough to cover the bars, so if you like a thicker frosting, consider making making making 50% more frosting than that in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States