Banana and Vanilla Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yum! I did what another reviewer did by adding one more banana and it was great! Just enough sweet, I didn't use the buttercream frosting but made a maple cream cheese frosting I found on this site. Really a great combination! I wanted to try a walnut flavor but couldn't find it so just put a walnut half on the top. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I love this recipe it was fast,easy, and simply delicious! I was remeber that we were going to a party and we had to bring a dessert, I needed something simple, easy, and something everyone would love. This was perfect. Easy to clean and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
i didnt make the cupcakes but i did use the recipe for the buttercream and it was really good it was perfect with cake decorating !!!!! love this!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These are easy and delicious! My bananas were older so I mashed them instead of cutting them up. I also baked a Nilla Wafer in the center of each cupcake but the flavor of the cake still shines through. Mine baked in 15 minutes and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GiGi
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These were very good cupcakes. They were nice and light- not heavy like banana bread. I added some mini chocolate chips to the batter and mixed some banana puree into the frosting then topped with a chocolate dipped banana chip. Everyone really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I Love The Frosting~ :) It was so yummy~ Me & my teacher loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanashima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe as it was written and the cupcakes turned out very good. They lie somewhere between a cupcake and a muffin. I went ahead and used my own brown sugar frosting recipe. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Great recipe! Banana recipes are always very dense, so that is to be expected. I used the electric mixer on high for several minutes and the batter actually made for very light & airy cupcakes. I only had 2 eggs on hand so I substituted a container of cinnamon applesauce for the third. I'll probably always do that now as it gave the cupcakes a tinge of spice flavor. I frosted half with the chocolate frosting & half with cream cheese frosting. Next time I'll be sure to try the buttercream recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These are fabulous! Moist, with a great banana and vanilla flavor. I made two very minor tweaks: I used cake flour instead of AP flour, and I mashed up the bananas and blended them in before I added the dry ingredients. I probably got slightly more than 1 tsp vanilla, but that never hurt anybody. I topped them with peanut butter and chocolate chips. A huge hit with the family and coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Ricks Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were great cupcakes! I am not a huge banana fan and I still loved them! Moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States