Banana and Vanilla Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These were fabulous!! Follow the directions EXACTLY and you can't go wrong. The only thing I would recommend the next time, is the buttercream frosting is way too sweet. Decrease conf. sugar to only 2 cups, and it will be perfect. Moist and very cake like, with big moist banana chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is my favorite cupcake recipe! Although I did not make the frosting, I really wish I did. I instead made my own frosting recipe but the cupcakes were delicious. I will have to make it another time using the frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
These were pretty good1 I did however, add 3 tablespoons of Flaxseed to the dry ingredients, (to add some fiber to the cupcakes), plus I also added 1 teaspoon of banana extract, to help give the cupcakes a bit more banana flavor. I added 1 more tablespoon of milk to the frosting, so the frosting was a bit more spreadable. I used 2% milk instead of the cream when making the frosting. I also found the 2-1/4 cups of confectioners' sugar was more than I needed to frost the cupcakes, so next time I will just use 2 cups, and modify the cupcake frosting ingredients to make it spreadable. I filled the paper muffin liners 3/4's full with the batter, and I'm glad I did, because the batter didn't rise very much. In the end I got 17 cupcakes. I plan on making these cupcakes again in the near future, as they were pretty good. For those who are planning on making these cupcakes, I highly recommend adding a teaspoon of banana extract to the batter, to enhance the flavor of the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were great cupcakes! I am not a huge banana fan and I still loved them! Moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These are fabulous! Moist, with a great banana and vanilla flavor. I made two very minor tweaks: I used cake flour instead of AP flour, and I mashed up the bananas and blended them in before I added the dry ingredients. I probably got slightly more than 1 tsp vanilla, but that never hurt anybody. I topped them with peanut butter and chocolate chips. A huge hit with the family and coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Ricks Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Did not like this at all. Dense, heavy, like bread or muffin, lacking in flavor overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GiGi
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These were very good cupcakes. They were nice and light- not heavy like banana bread. I added some mini chocolate chips to the batter and mixed some banana puree into the frosting then topped with a chocolate dipped banana chip. Everyone really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Great recipe! Banana recipes are always very dense, so that is to be expected. I used the electric mixer on high for several minutes and the batter actually made for very light & airy cupcakes. I only had 2 eggs on hand so I substituted a container of cinnamon applesauce for the third. I'll probably always do that now as it gave the cupcakes a tinge of spice flavor. I frosted half with the chocolate frosting & half with cream cheese frosting. Next time I'll be sure to try the buttercream recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
These were definitely good! Unfortunately my picky daughter wouldn't eat with the chopped banana chunks.. I cut them pretty small, almost pea sized.. but I think next time I will just mash them up and she will devour :) I cannot imagine these with icing though!!! Great without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe as it was written and the cupcakes turned out very good. They lie somewhere between a cupcake and a muffin. I went ahead and used my own brown sugar frosting recipe. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States