Balsamic Vinegar Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2004
Excellent recipie!! All you need is salt & pepper and of course the amount of Balsamic can be adjusted to suite one's taste. Rather than boil the potatoes, a much faster alternative is to just prick each potato and microwave them. Potatoes are less "soggy" and retain their moisture. Wait until they are cooler, dice them et voila...done. Far less work, not to mention heating up the kitchen. Also, you can substitute green onions and Dijon mustard...equally excellent results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
This is a nice change from traditional potato salad, with two daughters that will not eat mayonnaise or hard boiled eggs it's a winner. I used red wine vinegar, (taste preference) and added salt and pepper to taste. The suggestion to microwave the potatoes works well and cuts down on the dishes. I wasn't sure about which artichokes to use marinated or unmarinated I used marinated but I think either would be good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I really liked this, but it didn't receive any favorable comments or requests for the recipe when I served it for guests. It is very different from traditional potato salad, so maybe that's why they didn't seem to like it much. One lady said it wasn't moist enough for her (she prefers traditional potato salad with lots of mayo.) Definitely needs salt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I made this recipe and it was fabulous! I roasted the red peppers myself and used 2 shallots instead of the white onion because I find this onion too sharp tasting to use uncooked. I sure red onions would be even better. I used the microwaving technique suggested by some other people to cook the potatoes and it really kept the potatoes from getting mushy. However, make sure to test each of the potatoes for doneness because a few of the bigger potatoes weren't quite cooked long enough for my taste. This recipe was fantastic none the less! Thanks Peregrintook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Was not that good an i like vineger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I absolutley love this! It is quick easy, and delicious. The ingredients blend beautifully. I even use it as a quick supper for myself. Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I used blue chess. I love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Very good! Easy to make and very pretty. My family all enjoyed it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I didn't like the combined flavors. I had high hopes for this one. It's probably just a personal taste issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This was different but good. Let it sit for 24-36 hours before touching and that seemed to help the flavors meld together. I do think this recipe would turn off a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States