Balsamic Vinegar Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
It was very good!!! Found out at the last minute I was out of balsamic vinegar and all I had was regular, malt, apple cider, white wine and red wine vinegar so went with the red wine vinegar which gave it probably not as heavy a taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I really liked this recipe as a starting point. My husband doesn't like mayo and we love Balsamic Vinegar so I thought I would give this one a shot. I did make some changes. I cooked the potatoes in the microwave like others suggested and was happy with that (it was a very hot day and I wasn't dying to set up a pot of boiling water) method. Do remember to check the potatoes to make sure that they are cooking evenly. I cooked them in the microwave in 5 minute increments and then tested them. I also chunked the potatoes, not diced. I had some fresh garden picked green beans so I added those to the potato mix. I used fresh red pepper instead of roasted red pepper because I happened to have one on hand - I was happy with that and would do it again. I used kalamata olives, again, had them on hand and we love them. They are so much more flavorful than canned black olives. Don't skip the artichokes, they add a great taste. For the dressing, I added together the balsamic vinegar, olive oil, 3 fresh garden basil leaves instead of parsley, a teaspoon of dijon mustard (approx), and a small amount of pure maple syrup for a drop of sweet. I pureed it all together in my Magic Bullet and it made a fantastic balsamic dressing. I poured it on the potato mixture and let it marinate for the day. We had it for dinner as a side and we all loved it. Also, you can add salt and pepper to taste but be careful with the salt if you are using kalamata olives, they are salty already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Really liked the balsamic vinegar and onions in this one. We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Delicious! I didn't use artichokes only because I don't care for them. Added Mediterranean Herb Feta cheese. Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Wonderful salad. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I used equal amounts of EVOO and Balsamic Vinegar. Everything else was as the recipe suggested. Got good reviews from guests and would surely make it again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I was excited to try this salad, since I love all the ingredients listed. I tried some right away and again a day later, and I just didn't like the way the flavors mixed. I only added half of the balsamic vinegar and it was still overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gooding, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
We've made this quite often and it's one of our favorites for summer BBQs. We sometimes use jars of an antipasto mix instead of the olive/red pepper/artichoke heart mix described below. Definitely give the flavors time to mix. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is one good potato salad - I was looking for something just like this with no mayonnaise - to me the regular potato salads pretty much taste very similar to each other - I even heated this up with some white sausages and it was great cold or hot - can't beat that. Thanks so much for this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I had high hopes for this recipe as my son doesn't care for any mayo or miracle whip. What a disaster. All it tasted like, when I finally got past the way it looked, was vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States