Balsamic Vinegar and Ginger Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I cooked with bok choy for my first time using this recipe! I did not know if what I had was "baby" bok choy, but I had 2 heads so I halved the entire recipe. Also had no capers, they're a bit pricey for me to use. Regardless, this recipe tasted great! I used it for a Meatless Monday dinner and fried up some veggie egg rolls to go with. Boyfriend and I finished our plates, and I am definitely game to cook bok choy again! Did not find this too vinegary or slimy like other reviews state. I think fresh ginger really helped make this dish. If you don't cook with it a lot, it's OK. At the grocery store, just break off a piece in the size you'll need.. You don't have to buy the whole root that you see. I get a piece that is smaller than 1 inch, costs me less than 50 cents and I can make a couple dishes with it usually! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very nice mix of flavours. I didn't have fresh ginger so I substituted about 1/2 tsp of ground instead. There were no leftovers which is always a good sign. I'm sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I have never had bok choy before but we are being more adventurous and trying new vegetables and new ways of preparing them...this was AWESOME....love the capers and vinegar tastes....i had to change my recipe due to some poor planning, i used apple cider vinegar and lime juice, also did not have fresh ginger so used powder....it took a little longer for my baby bok choy to cook as well but the wait was worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I will buy Bok Choy more often. Did not change this recipe at all. I only used one head so decreased the ingredients. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Photo by cbmills
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I enjoyed this a lot. I didn't have capers or lemons, skipping those, it was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The ginger and garlic really make this dish pop! I threw in a little salt and pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
My family and I loved this. Asking my husband to eat new veggies doesn't always work well. This, he LOVED!!!! Already asking when we'll have it again. Thank you -thank you - thank you. It was easy, fresh, and very different. Most of the spices were on hand. I even used ground ginger instead of fresh and the taste was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is my first time cooking Bok Choy. I followed the recipe (but added just a dash of salt)and it turned out great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
something just wasn't right in this recipe. It just didn't have that special something, and cinnamon was not it. I prefer the tabouli from the Sprouts or Henry's deli makes. this wasn't terrible, but I wont make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Pretty Good. I added salt and pepper because I season everything and I think it tasted better seasoned. Also, I cut back on the vinegar to a little more than half of what was called for. It was still plenty vinegary. All in all a very good recipe - loved the capers in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States