Balsamic Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Heaven! Only change I made was substituting brown sugar (approx 2T) for the Splenda. I'm just not a big fan of artificial sweeteners. And don't you dare serve this over some cheap brand of vanilla ice cream! I served it over Haagen Daaz vanilla and this dessert is to die for and couldn't be easier and quicker to make. Even my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Oh my - I love strawberries and I love balsamic vinegar, but never thought of the two paried together! This is a really great dessert that's so simple and yet a bit on the elegant side. Not to mention it's low fat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Great recipe. I added a little more Balsamic to the strawberries and they were great. We put them in crepes for breakfast. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Didn't cook this on the stove so I didn't use the butter. Used regular sugar and a little more balsamic vinegar. Fabulous! My kids loved them just as they were and I didn't get to put them over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because it has a lighter more delicate yet "proper" strawberry taste without the butter. Just let the cut strawberries marinate in the balsamic vinegar long enough (few hours). We like it with vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
yum! I used organic raw sugar, no butter... and no HEAT! Instead I added about 3 tbsp of very good aged balsamic, sliced the berries evenly on the mandolin, and let them sit in the fridge for a couple of hours. They made their own wonderful syrup. I almost dont want to bother with the ice cream! I'm thinking that investing in the "good" balsamic makes he difference here - and allows the sauce to be rich and thick without the addition of butter. I'm going to be eating this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Brown
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Simply Delicious. I used 1/4 cup sugar. My family loved it. The Balsamic vinegar gives it an exquisite flavor but doesn't taste like vinegar. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I've made Strawberries and Balsamic Vinegar sprinkled with a little Spenda (or real sugar) for my non-diabetic friends. This stuff is amazing. Sweet tart. Really brings out the flavour of the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I really wanted to try this recipe because I love fruit mascerated in Balsamic Vinegar. I used White Balsamic Vinegar in this because I received the bottle shown in the picutre from Avon and Ivon. I think it also kept the strawberries a natural red color. This is a very yummy, low calorie dessert and I will make again. Four star rating because I felt the strawberries broke down too much. Don't know if it is me or what. I would have liked for them to a littel more firm. But, this DID NOT affect the taste. Just the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
used canola oil and smart balance to equal the butter. Was hesitant. Absoulutely incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRAMAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States