Balsamic Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Oh boy was this good! Picked up a few pounds of fresh Florida strawberries from the farmer's market and decided to give this a go (to my partner's horror when I said I was putting balsamic VINEGAR in them). Well guess what - it's delicious! I used normal sugar instead of Splenda and cooked for about 4 minutes until the strawberries were deep red but still firm. PERFECTION! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORPKID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Yummy and sophisticated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe sounded a bit adventurous so I decided to surprise my husband with a new, tasty treat for dessert. I was a bit disappointed though. I bought a nice bottle of balsamic vinegar - as other reviewers suggested, but to me the flavors didn't meld as well as I was hoping they would. I might try to make this again in the future, but it is not on my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Yummmmy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nada Solih

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Awesome flavor combo! Don't use the cheapest basamic out there! Use a mid level price range one. 2nd time I let the sauce cool before adding over ice cream. First round was too soupy for us. I also added 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar instead of Splenda, and we doubled the sauce ingredients for serving over ice cream, pound cake, or french toast. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Absolutely Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMAA77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Love this recipe. Great dish for company over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
yum! I used organic raw sugar, no butter... and no HEAT! Instead I added about 3 tbsp of very good aged balsamic, sliced the berries evenly on the mandolin, and let them sit in the fridge for a couple of hours. They made their own wonderful syrup. I almost dont want to bother with the ice cream! I'm thinking that investing in the "good" balsamic makes he difference here - and allows the sauce to be rich and thick without the addition of butter. I'm going to be eating this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Brown
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
The best ice cream topper! I had to use frozen berries this time but was amazing! Toped the dish with cornflakes toasted in butter and brown sugar. Warmed granola would have been great to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I really wanted to try this recipe because I love fruit mascerated in Balsamic Vinegar. I used White Balsamic Vinegar in this because I received the bottle shown in the picutre from Avon and Ivon. I think it also kept the strawberries a natural red color. This is a very yummy, low calorie dessert and I will make again. Four star rating because I felt the strawberries broke down too much. Don't know if it is me or what. I would have liked for them to a littel more firm. But, this DID NOT affect the taste. Just the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States