Balsamic Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I was looking for a different pickled egg recipe and this was it. I was surprised by the strong garlic after taste. I think the quality of balsamic vinegar makes a difference in the overall taste. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Sorry, I hate to do this but these were not good. I grew up on pickled eggs (jar of beets, apple cider vinegar, and sugar) but this time I decided to do something different and use this recipe. I used 18 eggs since I love pickled eggs. There is a bitter coffee aftertaste to these. I will stick to pickled beet eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nanty Glo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I think the completely brown-colored egg is a bit overpowering (visually)for an otherwise nice way to make pickled hard-boiled eggs. A thought: Keep the shell on, but crackle the shell, then place the [shell-on egg] into the liquid. Leave it for a day, or maybe two, then peel it. You should have a wonderfully marble-effect egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I loved the flavor of these eggs! I think the key is you have to really like balsamic vinegar. These eggs do not taste like traditional pickled eggs. The egg prep really depends on the eggs you use.... We use nest fresh eggs and the trick is to place eggs in cold water with1/8 cup salt per qt. Of water.... Bring to full boil...remove from heat... Cover and let set for 17 minutes....place eggs in to ice cold water until chilled. This way the eggs are cooked through and pop right out of the shell. Yummy thank for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hurd-Burnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
These pickled eggs are not bad but not quite what I was looking for. My son loves pickled eggs but he did not like the little sweetness in these, I would probable leave the sugar out. The color is also very intimidating; if you can get past that it’s not a bad egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This is our favorite pickled egg recipe. Just sweet enough and different than your standard pickled egg. We don't use the onion, just a preference, and they come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
honestly i loved the flavor! It's the egg preping that did not work. These eggs were only half cooked. I advise to fully boil the egg before aging. I questioned it before I made them, but wanted to follow the recipe exactly. If you like a sunny side up pickled egg..more power to ya! 3stars for flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moon77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
nice colour, great with salad, but i'd suggest adding a little water to jar until eggs are completly covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The best pickled eggs my boyfriend has ever had...we are on our second batch..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
We make Balsamic Pickled Eggs also and all we do boil the eggs, put them in a mason jar, pour Italian balsamic vinegar over them and let sit in the frig for a minimum of 3 days. Out of this world goooooood :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green_Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States