Balsamic Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
These pickled eggs are not bad but not quite what I was looking for. My son loves pickled eggs but he did not like the little sweetness in these, I would probable leave the sugar out. The color is also very intimidating; if you can get past that it’s not a bad egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
nice colour, great with salad, but i'd suggest adding a little water to jar until eggs are completly covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I think the completely brown-colored egg is a bit overpowering (visually)for an otherwise nice way to make pickled hard-boiled eggs. A thought: Keep the shell on, but crackle the shell, then place the [shell-on egg] into the liquid. Leave it for a day, or maybe two, then peel it. You should have a wonderfully marble-effect egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This is our favorite pickled egg recipe. Just sweet enough and different than your standard pickled egg. We don't use the onion, just a preference, and they come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Sorry, I hate to do this but these were not good. I grew up on pickled eggs (jar of beets, apple cider vinegar, and sugar) but this time I decided to do something different and use this recipe. I used 18 eggs since I love pickled eggs. There is a bitter coffee aftertaste to these. I will stick to pickled beet eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nanty Glo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I was looking for a different pickled egg recipe and this was it. I was surprised by the strong garlic after taste. I think the quality of balsamic vinegar makes a difference in the overall taste. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The best pickled eggs my boyfriend has ever had...we are on our second batch..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I've made and had lots of variations of pickled eggs and I'm sorry to say. . .I'm not feeling this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was the first time I'd actually made pickled eggs and they turned out all right, they were just much-too-sweet for my taste buds. My stepdad tried them and approved of them, so I'll say there's not good, not bad, I just didn't like them too much :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I thought this was a very bland pickled egg. But my opinion is that pickled eggs should tangy. I'm not really sure I like balsamic vinegar, so that could have been the problem. I didn't find the color intimidating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Randolph, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States