Balsamic Pear, Chicken, and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
What a wonderful dish! Upon arriving home, the aroma was so very inviting, we couldn't wait to dig into it, and we weren't disappointed. The multiple different seasonings and flacorings in this really made this dish. I served with orzo and mushrooms and a side salad. I will certainly be keeping this recipe and making again. Just because it's a slow cooker recipe doesn't mean this can't be served to company!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nlundgren
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
OK. So if I could give this a Ten I would.VERY Satisfying !!! Made only a few changes.Used butter instead of Veg.oil,seasoned the chicken with Hungarian Paprika,Garlic Salt and Lemon Pepper.Added 2 Tb of Soy-sauce to sauce.then I cooked everything on very low on top of the stove.It was done and perfect in 30 min. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nlundgren

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by June the Homemaker
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was an AWESOME slow-cooker recipe! I omitted the chicken, because I'm vegetarian, and reduced the oil to 1 tsp (I assumed not all of it would make it into the slow cooker after the chicken was done cooking) but kept everything else the same. It was DELICIOUS. I love the combination of sweet and sour and salty and savory. Super easy and great for a farmer's market basket full of asparagus! It's not quite a meal on its own, so I'd recommend serving it over rice or with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June the Homemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Wonderful & easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Flavorful, moist, a bit sweet, and very easy. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I LOVED this recipe! I opted to used a rotissirie chicken, pulled all the meat off the bones and followed the rest as directed, just heated the onion (I used shallots) in with the sauce for several hours on warm, it was AWESOME!!! Definatley a keeper and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Great sweet and savory flavors, and low carb! I made this in the oven instead of the crock pot. I didn't change anything about the recipe, just put it all in a glass baking dish at cooked uncovered for 1 hour at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
One of the easiest and best slow cooker recipies I've ever done. Minimal preparation for maximum results. I served it with mashed potatoes. My boyfriend thought it was 5 star resturant quality food. He was so impressed. I thought the same. I was pleasently surprised. Will make this dish for special guests and when I need to do impressive entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I used the ingredients, but as I like to go as fat free as possible I made this in the oven with boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I pared the pears, put them on top of the chicken, then made my sauce and drizzled it over the chicken. Instead of brown sugar I used honey. As asparagus was out of season when I made this, we didn't have any. Baked at 350 degrees for approx. 45 min - 1 hr. After the chicken was done, I put the chicken onto a platter, put the drippings into a saucepan, added some balsamic vinegar and cornstarch. Bring to a boil to thicken and then drizzle over chicken & pears. Ohhhhh so goooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Delicious! Interesting combination of flavors that I really enjoyed together. The only reason I'm giving this four stars instead of five is that I would probably use half the sugar or less (the pears/apple juice make this plenty sweet already) and double the balsamic vinegar. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States