Balsamic Pear, Chicken, and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by June the Homemaker
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was an AWESOME slow-cooker recipe! I omitted the chicken, because I'm vegetarian, and reduced the oil to 1 tsp (I assumed not all of it would make it into the slow cooker after the chicken was done cooking) but kept everything else the same. It was DELICIOUS. I love the combination of sweet and sour and salty and savory. Super easy and great for a farmer's market basket full of asparagus! It's not quite a meal on its own, so I'd recommend serving it over rice or with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June the Homemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
What a wonderful dish! Upon arriving home, the aroma was so very inviting, we couldn't wait to dig into it, and we weren't disappointed. The multiple different seasonings and flacorings in this really made this dish. I served with orzo and mushrooms and a side salad. I will certainly be keeping this recipe and making again. Just because it's a slow cooker recipe doesn't mean this can't be served to company!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this dish for our Easter dinner. Everyone loved it! I used brown pears instead of Barlett and they turned out very nice. My guests loved the flavours and found the dish very appealing to the eyes too. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Great sweet and savory flavors, and low carb! I made this in the oven instead of the crock pot. I didn't change anything about the recipe, just put it all in a glass baking dish at cooked uncovered for 1 hour at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I would totally give the sauce for this 10 stars if I could! I made the sauce the night before, along with cutting the onion and pear. That way I could just toss it all in the slow cooker before I left for work. When i opened the container with the sauce, I wanted to just eat it right there! I didn't brown the chicken before I put it in, mainly because I knew I was going to be gone all day and that it would cook in the slow-cooker. I also didn't add the asparagus for the same reason. The chicken unfortunately turned out a little dry for me, but that's partially due to the fact that I had to let it cook longer than I would like. I would love to use the sauce to cook the chicken either on the stovetop on in the oven. I will definitely be using it as a marinade going forward! As for the pears, my husband found out he doesn't like them (awesome timing, huh?) so next time I think I might use apples (something he WILL eat.) Otherwise, good recipe, I just might tweak it so my chicken doesn't dry out. Seriously, though, the sauce. DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I LOVED this recipe! I opted to used a rotissirie chicken, pulled all the meat off the bones and followed the rest as directed, just heated the onion (I used shallots) in with the sauce for several hours on warm, it was AWESOME!!! Definatley a keeper and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I was really looking forward to making this because of the reviews but somehow this asted like a bad sweet asian meal... i was so hungry by the time it was done I ate it and it is palatable but I do not care for any more... I even added more garlic then called and it came out so sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I don't get it. I thought this recipe sounded wonderful but turned out to be blah! Even the fresh ginger could not bring it to life. Not offensive but will not prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
There were some interesting flavors in here. It was easy to make, but I didn't pre-cook the chicken; I just let it cook in the slow-cooker. My husband and son liked it. It's healthy, so that's a plus. I give it 4 stars, because I liked it but I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivanandmarcia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
The chicken was delicious but the pear brought no flavor to the meal. I think the balsamic was flavorful enough that my guests didn't even know they were eating pear. I also recommend cooking the asparagus seperate as it was a bit mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States