Balsamic Pear, Chicken, and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Hmmmm- it was lacking something in the sauce... I followed the base recipe, following the suggestions of others, cooked it on high for 2 hours- perfect timing. Did not put the asparagus in the pot- didn't want it mushy! Did throw some mushrooms in. I also didn't brown the chicken first- it was fine. So the meat was perfectly cooked, as were the onions and mushrooms...the sauce was missing something though- very bland, edible but not rememorable! Not worth attempting again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I did not care for this. I followed the recipe exactly except I had to use ground ginger instead of fresh...Chicken was dry, the asparagus was tough and stringy in spite of being fresh, the pears were beyond mushy,and the flavors just did not blend well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Would not make again. Very, very bland. Ended up with overcooked asparagus, too much onion flavored chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Excellent recipe. I've made it twice. The first time the asparagras was very soft and mushy. I like them a little crunchy, so the second time I made the dish, I added the asparagras about an hour before the cooking was complete and they were perfect. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I omitted the ginger, but one spice shouldn't make that much difference in a recipe. My family thought it was OK. Doubt I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Really didn't like what happened to the asparagus. It mushed up and was very stringy. I suspect just about any other hardy vegetable (potatoes, carrots, etc.) would do well. The chicken and sauce worked well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Santamouris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I just made this dish and it's quite tasty. My pears and veg held up well. I browned the chicken in a cast iron pan as directed, then I removed the chicken and set aside. I put the onion slices in the skillet and got some good color and carmelization on them and put aside. I then, I think this is key to having them hold up in a slow cooker..threw the asparagus in the skillet and did the same..got some nice brown color on them. I put the chicken in the slow cooker, followed by the carmelized onions and pears and then asparagus. I deglazed my skillet with basalmic and some apple juice and poured the mixture over the chicken before adding the sauce. My only critique of this dish as some others have pointed out is that the chicken was a bit dry after cooking on low for 4 hours. I think that next time I would use some dark meat, thighs and think that it would be just perfect. As it is, the Fiance' and I are enjoying this slow cooked dish on a stormy, cold day and we like it quite well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I was underwhelmed with this dish. There wasn't much "sauce" everyone raves about. It has great ingredients in it, but not enough for the dish. I cooked it on the stovetop in a cast iron pot for over an hour, and the chicken was dry. (Tasted better with the cooked pear, though.) I cooked the asparagus separately (we don't like them soggy) and added them towards the end. There just wasn't any deliciousness there. I get more from just marinating a chicken in far less ingredients, then I did from this dish. Maybe doing the slow cooker thing concentrates the flavors more, I don't now. But I won't be making it again. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
We really liked it. We served it in a bowl over mashed potatoes. Ours was ready in 3 hours and the asparagus was just right. Not draining the juices from the chicken and pouring it in with the slow cooker is probably important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Prep is fairly easy. I didn't pre-cook the chicken and it stewed just fine. The flavors are awesome. The asparagus and pears do get super mushy. I might try cooking for less time next time. But super nutritious and your home will smell amazing while this cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States