Balsamic Pear, Chicken, and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I don't have a picky family when it comes to food and no one in my family liked this recipe. It was very sweet and didn't really have a lot of other flavor. Definitely not a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is the first time I made a dish which I found to be hardly appetizing at all. I doubled the measurements for the liquids, and yet, it still came out dry. More so, you can only taste the "essence" of the flavour (rather than having some sauce to pour over your plate), and the asparagus, being at the top of the layer, was not saturated in the flavour at all (i.e., it was simply steamed asparagus). I was disappointed, because it sounded like a promising recipe. I wasn't impressed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
One word...weird. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I would not make this recipe again without trying to change a few fundamentals. First, I don't understand the need for precooking the chicken. My chicken was totally dried out by the end of the 4 hours in the slow cooker. Couldn't you put the chicken in raw? Secondly, after 4 hrs on low the asparagus was mushy. I made the kids eat it and forced myself to also finish it, but the rice was our favorite part of the meal... I wish I could say the sauce redeemed it, but it was OK...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Fight back the urge to add more juice or sugar...any more will make it too sweet. My husband was nice enough to choke it down after he added a bunch of sriracha to cancel out some of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Tried with frozen green beans and apples, and they held up well (wouldn't use canned beans). It was super easy to throw everything in the crockpot and go; house smelled great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Loved the flavors. I only cooked it a little over 3 hours. If I did it again I would wait and add the asparagus the last hour. The asparagus was too soft for my liking. Chicken was alittle dry but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 46Gators

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
The flavor actually turned out good for me. I only had fresh rosemary so that flavor was a little strong but overall tasty. The chicken was a little dry and the asparagus was very mushy. I ended up cutting everything up and mixing it together and it was pretty good like that. I just noticed in the picture someone put it over rice. I like that idea, if I make this again, I'll probably try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onehappyfamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Hmmmm- it was lacking something in the sauce... I followed the base recipe, following the suggestions of others, cooked it on high for 2 hours- perfect timing. Did not put the asparagus in the pot- didn't want it mushy! Did throw some mushrooms in. I also didn't brown the chicken first- it was fine. So the meat was perfectly cooked, as were the onions and mushrooms...the sauce was missing something though- very bland, edible but not rememorable! Not worth attempting again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I did not care for this. I followed the recipe exactly except I had to use ground ginger instead of fresh...Chicken was dry, the asparagus was tough and stringy in spite of being fresh, the pears were beyond mushy,and the flavors just did not blend well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States