Balsamic Pear, Chicken, and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Main concern about this recipes is that asparagus does not cook very well in a slow cooker and it came out over-cooked and pears may be the wrong fruit to go with this too. The rest of the food still turned out good, so that's why I think overall its accurate to call the recipe okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Solid recipe. I went light on the chicken (meat is just getting so expensive!) and heavy on the ginger. I did not brown my chicken first and had no issues. I had no apple juice, subbing 'white cooking wine' seemed to work well. All in all a tasty meal for fall when I used green beans instead of asparagus as recommended! I loved the rosemary and might try some fresh next time, added closer to the end. I cooked mine for about 4.5 hours, any more and I think it would have been overdone. The dish was sweeter than I expected but nummy, thanks for sharing this unique recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I was really hesistant to try this recipe due to the reviews being so mixed but I'm glad that I went for it. My bf and I really enjoyed this one. However, I did take some advice from other comments. I added the asparagus in on the last hour and they came out just right. After two hours passed, I drizzled more balsalmic over the chicken at every hour until it was done. I think this helped moisten the chicken and give it good flavor. My bf has already requested that I make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I used the ingredients, but as I like to go as fat free as possible I made this in the oven with boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I pared the pears, put them on top of the chicken, then made my sauce and drizzled it over the chicken. Instead of brown sugar I used honey. As asparagus was out of season when I made this, we didn't have any. Baked at 350 degrees for approx. 45 min - 1 hr. After the chicken was done, I put the chicken onto a platter, put the drippings into a saucepan, added some balsamic vinegar and cornstarch. Bring to a boil to thicken and then drizzle over chicken & pears. Ohhhhh so goooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This recipe is good and easy. I think next time I would cook it longer in the slow cooker. It was much better heated up the next day. The flavors melded together better. I would give it 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Chicken tasted real good, but the Asparagus was yucky tasting. It's a one-timer for us. I'll give a 3 for the flavor of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
We did not like this dish so much. The pear seem to have given the dish a rather odd taste. May try again with less sugar and without the pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nlundgren
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
OK. So if I could give this a Ten I would.VERY Satisfying !!! Made only a few changes.Used butter instead of Veg.oil,seasoned the chicken with Hungarian Paprika,Garlic Salt and Lemon Pepper.Added 2 Tb of Soy-sauce to sauce.then I cooked everything on very low on top of the stove.It was done and perfect in 30 min. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nlundgren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Delicious! Interesting combination of flavors that I really enjoyed together. The only reason I'm giving this four stars instead of five is that I would probably use half the sugar or less (the pears/apple juice make this plenty sweet already) and double the balsamic vinegar. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Tastes and smells like an Asian dish, I would serve it with rice. I don't really like pears, and I had sweet potatoes that I needed to fix, so I substituted that, I think they went very well with the dish. I also baked instead of slow-cooker, and the chicken wasn't dry. But I added the asparagus in the last few minutes to avoid mushiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States