Balsamic Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Fantastic salad! Like other cooks, I used white balsamic and the color was beautiful instead of brownish. I also reduced the amount of mayo to 1/4 cup as suggested. My changes were to use red onion and add minced fresh mint. The mint was a fresh pop and worked well with the feta and balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I took the recommendation of others and used white balsamic vinegar, and decreased the mayo to 1/2 cup which was the perfect amount. I added the nuts prior to serving in order to prevent sogginess. Next time I'm going to try adding water chestnuts or chickpeas in which case I'll likely need the full 3/4 cup mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Haven't stopped making this since I ran across the recipe. Much, much better with fresh peas (English peas from Trader Joes). I lose the almonds, drop the mayo to 1/2 cup, and use fresh peas, and it's perfect. Whenever friends are over the demand a batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I'm giving this 4 stars for the original recipe and 5 stars after making a few changes. I followed other reviewers suggestions and added about 1/2 cup of halved cherry tomatoes, 1/4 cup red pepper, and the best suggestion, smoked almonds. I like a lot of mayo but 1/2 cup plus the balsamic was perfect. I will certainly use the mayo/balsamic combination for other things. I brought this to my book club and every bit of it was gone and I was asked to share the recipe. I made another batch of the salad today just for myself. Thanks for all the great ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Made this in an attempt to convince folks who don't think they like peas that they might. And it worked! Big hit at our party. It's a wonderful mix of flavors & textures. I did toast my almonds in the toaster oven, tho. Will make my travelling team for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I switched out the toasted almonds for garbonzo beans, big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lone Mopper
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is a quick, easy, and delicious salad! After tastng the firsst bite after preparation, it was hard no to eat more! The balsamic vinegar and feta cheese are addictive and tasty ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very good overall, but it just seems to be missing something and I can't quite put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was very delicious. I took off one star because the recipe calls for way too much mayo! Next time I make it, I'll start off with a few tablespoons of mayo first. Other than that, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is the best salad ever! This is my fist time reviewing a recipe and I just had to review this one after I tried it! I had it at a potluck luncheon today at work. It out-shined all the other salads there!!!! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States