Balsamic Dijon Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I was looking for a quick and tasty recipe to use for dipping Italian bread and this more than fits the bill.Compilments abounded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I followed this to a T and had to throw it out. It was very soupy and strong flavor. I hope that others have better luck with it!!It had all the ingredints I liked but not togther. No big deal I am glad that I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
I adjusted the recipe by adding 3 Tablespoons mayo for a creamier consistency...FABULOUS for dipping grilled artichokes! We want it with everything now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This provides an excellent base for a versatile sauce. I omitted the sugar and salt, threw in a tablespoon or so of butter, and came out with a great tangy sauce to drizzle over anything--veggies, meat, bread, whatever. I actually used to liven up an otherwise straightforward spinach-stuffed crepes dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Though the taste combination of this sauce is delicious and punguent, it turned out far too watery to be a dipping sauce or to use for spreading on crackers! Adding enough mustard to make it thicker, like the recipe suggests, would have made the mustard flavor far too strong. As a marinade, it would be perfect the way it is. To make it thick enough to be a dipping sauce, I added about 1/2 tsp of cornstarch and heated it on the burner for a few minutes while stirring. That did the trick and made it just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I agree with others this would be a GREAT marinade, but I found it too strong a flavor for dipping veggies. I used it for artichokes (wanting a healthier alternative to butter) but it was way too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Use this as a marinade! I omitted the sugar (I have the opposite of a sweet tooth), added a Tb of butter, and used it to soak some boneless pork ribs. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Left out the sugar and added fresh rosemary and oregano. It is truely a great dipping sauce. I think next time I will emulsify a little olive oil to help thicken it up. Using it as a marinade on pork ribs as we speak. Reminds me of pork pinchitos we bought from vendors on the street in Spain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Made this as a sauce to go with pork tenderloin. The sauce was terrible. It hurt my throat to taste it. I tried to save it, added corn starch to thicken, added chicken broth to soften the blow - but I was not successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
After reading this recipe I didn't follow it. Instead, I used: 2 tbsp dijon mustard 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar 3 tbsp miracle whip 1 tsp brown sugar It turned out lovely and was perfect with cocktail weiners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States