Balsamic Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Only 3 stars-all for the flavor. My sauce broke as soon as I poured in the cream. Correction, fat free 1/2 & 1/2 - note to self and others, NOT a good sub. No milk solids & will break and curdle because of the heat. BUT - It has a great flavor and I managed to save it with a slurry of cornstarch. We just didn't pay attention to the small white bits (looked like non dairy creamer sprinkled throughout). Served it over cheese tortolini w/steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I wasn't sure if I would like this, but wow, it was divine! LOVED the flavor, even if my onions got a little too done. Just before serving, I added a couple handfulls of chopped fresh baby spinach, then served this over grilled chicken and cheese tortellini. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I added a clove of garlic, pressed, at the end of carmelizing the onions, used chicken base instead of granules, and added sauteed chicken breast and asparagus. I used Romano instead of Parmesan, freshly grated, and added it a little at a time. At the end of stirring it in, it seemed to be a little stringy, so I stirred in a tablespoon or so of the liquid that had collected in the pan when I sauteed the chicken and asparagus pieces, and that loosened it up nicely. All in all, I will DEFINITELY be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Fantastic sauce. I added chopped mushrooms,and lots of sliced garlic, and topped with fresh minced parsley. My son said mix half the sauce into the pasta and pour the rest over the top. Loved it - even using 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk. Update: w/2 lbs pasta I use 1/2 c olive oil, 1 chopped onion, 1 cup balsamic vinegar, 3 lrg portabello mushrooms chopped, 6 T chicken bullion, 1 qt milk, 3 c heavy cream, 2 8-oz pkgs Sargento parmesan. LOVE IT for 12-16 people!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this sauce to top some chicken and it was SO good! I completely forgot to add the parmesan...but it turned out nicely anyways. I will be making the sauce again (and this time include the parmesan cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdL03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great nightly dinner! I added baby bella mushrooms and substituted 1 cup skim milk and 1/2 cup low fat sour cream for heavy cream. yummy!!! will definetly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This has got to be the best sauce ever and easy to make. I think the key is to make sure you really carmelize those onions. I recommend going by the recipe of 15 minutes on the onions. The flavor of the carmelized onions makes it. I also put chicken and either penne or rigatoni noodles in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Good recipe! The only change that I would suggest would be the one that other reviews has said, which was to reduce the amount of Chicken Bouillon granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jumpy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was very good. I served it over chicken. Went together very easy. I used fat free half and half instead of the heavy cream other than that made it as written. Next time I am going to try it with shrimp and some veggies...Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States