Balsamic Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Yes yes yes! Really good restaruant quality flavor. Loved it. As usual I didn't have everything it called for, so here's what I did. I was generous with the butter and olive oil. I minced a half an onion (and threw in some minced garlic) and sauted it for a bit until real soft. Then I sauted chicken breast strips that I had cut in the oil/butter/onion mixture. Then pulled out the chicken when done and set it aside, covered. Then I added the balsamic to the pan (I already had some in the fridge that I reduced slightly with a little sugar) and let it simmer on medium-high heat for another 3 minutes or so. I didn't have the granules, so I put in about a quarter cup of chicken stock. Let that simmer for another minute or two. I seasoned it heavily with "rustic italian seasoning" (from Costco, a blend of basil, rosemary, oregano, garlic, salt, etc.). Then put in the half and half (didn't have cream). Let that simmer for 5 minutes. Then, in a separate small dish, I disolved about a tablespoon of flour with a little bit of the simmering sauce and two big spoonsful of hot water from the pasta I had boiling. Then I whisked that back into the simmering sauce. Then once it thickens up a bit, its done. I put the chicken back in the simmering sauce and voila! The sauce was so darn good as it was, I didn't want to put the cheese in the pan. So I let everyone put the parmesan on his or her own helping, as desired. We ate it with pasta and sauted zucchini. Absolutely delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Server33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a very good and easy sauce. It reheats well too. For a fast meal, I make the "A Good Easy Garlic Chicken" in the pan first and then this sauce. I serve the chicken and sauce over whatever pasta I have on-hand. The only thing I do different is to 1/2 the chicken bouillon and leave the sauce on the burner while stirring in the parm. cheese. It's a definite keeper! *UPDATE* I've made this 3 times (w/the chicken) and each time it leaves me wanting to lick the bowl clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeiteasy4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by frivera23
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Was good, would make again. Served with pasta and apple chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frivera23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Very Good indeed ! Left out the parmesan because I didn't have any and it turned out just fine. Next time I will try it with the Parmesan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was really good! I used 1/2 cup cream and 1/2 cup skim milk in an attempt to cut down the fat. I also did not have enough of the cheese so I had to add a handful of shredded italian mix cheese. This tasted wonderful on top of baked chicken and grilled asparagus. I think this would be wonderful on pasta in place of an alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Delicious! I had to use beef bouillon granules and cheddar cheese because it was all I had, and the sauce still turned out yummy. I can't wait to try try this again with the chicken bouillon and some of my other favorite cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was awesome! I added a little extra balsalmic and chicken bouillon. Plus some milk and sour cream to make it a little creamier. I topped this on noodles with chicken and added peppers, green onions, celery, and tomatoes. Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
OMG! We LOVED this recipe! This is a do again & again & again!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Great taste fast and easy. I had to fudge on the ingredients as this was a last minute quick sauce for pasta so I used what was on hand - one cup of Trader Giotto's grated Parmesan and Romano and added a handful of ready made bacon crumbles and already liquid soup stock. Mixed in the already cooked cold penne till it was hot. Served with a sprinkle of parsley. Hubby and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBatson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This will most definitely be in our regular rotation; it's THAT delicious! I know it's a winner when the BF says "you can make this again!" I omitted the chicken granules as I don't eat meat and found that the sauce was wonderful without it. I also used a combination of fat free half and half and regular half and half with great results. No problem with the cheese clumping; adding it slowly prevented this. I think I'll add a little more balsamic vinegar next time. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States