Balsamic Chicken with White Beans and Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Oh-my-gosh, YUM! AND healthy! I took the advice from previous posters’ suggestions and added chopped onion and fresh shrooms. Also, I didn’t have white kidney beans on hand, so I used red ones. I have one suggestion (and I only add this because of the folks who have previously given low ratings and negative comments): This is a big boy/girl dish. If you are looking for an alternative to Sloppy Joes or Buffalo Wings, this may not be the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Delicious! I added a some a chopped shallot to the garlic, and then my fiance came along and decided he wanted onions so I added some and let caramelize a little before adding the balsamic vinegar. I also used frozen spinach because thats what I had on hand. I served it over brown rice. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I was impressed by the flavor in this. I wasn't expecting much, but this was a nice surprise. I used frozen spinach and added onions. Easy and uniquely delicious. This will be a regular for us. Even my toddlers ate the spinach mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
In the oil I put in sliced mushrooms and some sweet onion slices. I seasoned the chicken. The recipes is so easy to follow. I made sure to wash the beans and 7oz of spinach. It was so delicious and I paired it with Ratatouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinitwinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Made this for a weeknight meal and it was both quick and delicious. All my family liked it. Followed recipe but selected smaller white beans instead of kidney beans and cut back vinegar to 1/3 cup. Even the leftovers were gobbled up. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Loved this! Followed the recipe to the letter and serves it to company.Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My fiancée and I have been trying to eat healthier and this was a good change of pace dish, although we made some alterations due to the ingredients we had available. The first major change is that I didn't cook the chicken as directed. I have a DIY immersion circulator and had a previously cooked/chilled bag of chicken breasts (2 hours @ 141 F) seasoned with creole seasoning, so I used that. I heated up the pan with grapeseed oil, added the chicken (preheated for 20 min @ 130 F), put foil over the top, then put a heavy weight on top to "power sear" the breasts for 45 seconds on each side. I followed the rest of the recipe as directed, except I added shallots, used butter beans (large white lima beans) instead of cannellini, and added a 14.5 oz can of artichoke hearts that I drained, rinsed and quartered. Let me tell you: The artichoke hearts were such a fantastic addition that I couldn't imagine doing this dish another way. I also thought the butter beans went perfect as well. Overall, I would cook this dish again in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I followed the instructions exactly and thought this was horrible... The chicken had no flavor and the look of the dish is totally unappealing. Will not even attempt to make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My Motto: recipes are a guideline. You must be familiar with your own tastes when tackling a recipe. We pre-seasoned our chicken to our liking than cooked as directed. Midway through, we sampled the sauce and determined it needed a little more salt and added some beef stock to thin it out. I loved the beans and spinach cooked in the dish. Its a great base to a recipe and pairs wonderfully with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States