Balsamic Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Super! The chicken was wonderfully flavorful! I marinaded in the fridge overnight. The pasta was wonderful also, but I only added half the balsamic vinegar....after reading the other reviews. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made a few changes but my fiance said this was the best thing I ever made for him. I didn't have time to marinate the chicken 2 hours so here is what I did: I combined the balsamic vinegar and olive oil and set the chicken in there for about 30 min. Meanwhile, I chopped the garlic and sauteed with mushrooms and two dried basil leaves (didn't have fresh) until brown. I browned the chicken then added the garlic, mushrooms, and basil back in as well as 2 cans of diced tomatoes (1 fire roasted and 1 italian). I let this cook and simmer for about 15 min and served with pasta. It was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Sorry not one of my faves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made this recipe almost exactly as written for a potluck. The only change I made was to drizzle the tomatoes with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and salt and roast them in the oven. It was okay, but definitely not a hit at the potluck-- I had a lot leftover. It would have been better with parm cheese or something. I'd probably make it again because it was easy, but may make some modifications so people (and myself!) like it enough to go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I've made this many, many times with minor adjustments. I omit the salt and pepper all together. Doesn't really need it. I also don't bother getting the food processor dirty, so I just whisk the oil, vinegar, minced garlic, and ribboned basil together. While the pasta and the chicken is cooking, I put the tomatoes and more fresh basil in a large bowl and add the 1/4 vinegar and 1/4 oil and let it sit. I add the hot pasta on top, which slightly softens the tomatoes. Then add the chicken and toss together! Great dish! A family favorite! I also make this with only 1 lb chicken, 1 pint tomatoes, 1 lb pasta. FRESH basil is KEY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Love this- we used the sweet orange cherry tomatoes- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I really enjoyed the lightness and overall flavor of this dish, but the balasmic seemed a bit too sweet. I marinated over night, I might try a couple hours next time and see if that cuts down on the sweetness. I cut my olive oil in 1/2 in the marinade and sauce. I also used Italian stewed tomatoes in place of cherry tomatoes (what was in teh pantry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmendorf Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Great recipe! I pounded the chicken down thin and let it marinate all day. We grilled it and it came out very nice. I did cut the olive oil in half for the marinade. I also marinated the tomatoes in the olive oil (also cut that in half) and the balsamic vinegar along with some minced garlic, salt, pepper, 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes and chopped fresh basil. While the pasta was boiling I sauteed 1/2 c. of chopped onion then added the tomatoe mixture and let that warm up just a bit. Tossed that in with the chicken and pasta and topped it with a little parmesan cheese - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This dish is GREAT! The only alteration I made was grilling the chicken and adding a little feta cheese before serving. My nine-year old said it was the best chicken he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I liked this quite a bit and my husband absolutely loved it. A couple of bites in he claimed it was his new favourite pasta dish. I added some feta at the very end as suggested by another reviewer and I found the saltiness of the cheese complemented the dish nicely. Thanks, Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States