Balsamic Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made this recipe almost exactly as written for a potluck. The only change I made was to drizzle the tomatoes with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and salt and roast them in the oven. It was okay, but definitely not a hit at the potluck-- I had a lot leftover. It would have been better with parm cheese or something. I'd probably make it again because it was easy, but may make some modifications so people (and myself!) like it enough to go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I've made this many, many times with minor adjustments. I omit the salt and pepper all together. Doesn't really need it. I also don't bother getting the food processor dirty, so I just whisk the oil, vinegar, minced garlic, and ribboned basil together. While the pasta and the chicken is cooking, I put the tomatoes and more fresh basil in a large bowl and add the 1/4 vinegar and 1/4 oil and let it sit. I add the hot pasta on top, which slightly softens the tomatoes. Then add the chicken and toss together! Great dish! A family favorite! I also make this with only 1 lb chicken, 1 pint tomatoes, 1 lb pasta. FRESH basil is KEY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Love this- we used the sweet orange cherry tomatoes- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I really enjoyed the lightness and overall flavor of this dish, but the balasmic seemed a bit too sweet. I marinated over night, I might try a couple hours next time and see if that cuts down on the sweetness. I cut my olive oil in 1/2 in the marinade and sauce. I also used Italian stewed tomatoes in place of cherry tomatoes (what was in teh pantry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmendorf Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Great recipe! I pounded the chicken down thin and let it marinate all day. We grilled it and it came out very nice. I did cut the olive oil in half for the marinade. I also marinated the tomatoes in the olive oil (also cut that in half) and the balsamic vinegar along with some minced garlic, salt, pepper, 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes and chopped fresh basil. While the pasta was boiling I sauteed 1/2 c. of chopped onion then added the tomatoe mixture and let that warm up just a bit. Tossed that in with the chicken and pasta and topped it with a little parmesan cheese - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This dish is GREAT! The only alteration I made was grilling the chicken and adding a little feta cheese before serving. My nine-year old said it was the best chicken he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I liked this quite a bit and my husband absolutely loved it. A couple of bites in he claimed it was his new favourite pasta dish. I added some feta at the very end as suggested by another reviewer and I found the saltiness of the cheese complemented the dish nicely. Thanks, Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Really good! You can adapt it easily to your tastes as well! I loved it cold as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletochef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was delicious! Good olive oil and aged mellow balsamic are paramount. I had some fabulously fresh tasty tomatoes that I damaged by baking. Next time I make this, I'll chill it, not bake the tomatoes, and serve it cold for a picnic. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timujin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was a nice change to our normal routine. I added a little brown sugar. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States