Balsamic Chicken and Fresh Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
A really nice, robust meal to make without that much hassel. I dredged the chicken in flour seasoned with minced garlic, rosemary and oregano before sauting. Added a clover of minced garlic to the balsamic vinegar before drizzling it over the chicken. Served with Italian bread and a tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This was my first time having fresh mozarella and I wasn't sure what to expect. I found the fresh cheese to be very flavorless actually, but when eaten with the chicken, tomatoes and basil it wasn't bad. I do think next time I will doctor this up with some seasonings and more balsamic vinegar. Or else maybe a different cheese. Garlic goat cheese maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
There wasn't that much flavor here, though a nice idea. I would rather stick with keeping the mozzarella and tomatoes together as a salad (insalata caprese) and leaving the chicken by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
this was a great recipe my husband at two helpings. if you wanted to you could even use feta instead of mozzerella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This recipe was not as tasty as I expected. The fresh mozz was quite bland. Also, though I love balsamic vinegar with veggies/greens, I really don't think it complements meat well. But that is personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
My husband was doubtfull when he first saw this dish on his plate, but he ended up loving it as much as I did. Our two year old son even ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
My family LOVES this recipe. It is so easy to make, and tastes so fresh and "alive". This recipe has become part of my regular repertoire. 10/09,2006: Update: I used the basis of this recipe with some fresh tilapia (white fish) and it was fabulous. I marinated the fish in the balsamic vinegrette for about 45 minutes. I lined a jelly roll pan with aluminum foil, and placed the fish on the foil. I then covered the fish with shredded mozzarella and baked in a 425 F oven for 10 minutes, then broiled for 2-3 minutes until the cheese was golden and bubbly. To make the remainder ingredients easier to eat with fish, I chopped the basil and diced the tomatoes before layering them on the top of each fish fillet. Finally, I sprinkled with additional balsamic vinegar and served. YUM YUM!!! Thanks again, this is one we make all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This was delicious! I made this dish into panini sandwiches. I used whole grain pita and put a piece each of chicken, mozzarella, tomato and 1 basil leaf then heated through on my sandwich press. It was awesome! I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Busy2Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
AWESOME!! WHEN I READ THIS RECIPE, I JUST THOUGHT IT LOOKED KINDA BLAH, I TRIED IT ANYWAYS CUZ IT SEEMED SO EASY & I HAVE A NEW FAVORITE! I MARINATED FOR 24 HOURS, & INSTEAD OF JUST SETTING THE LEAF & TOMATO SLICE ON THE CHICKEN, I CHOPPED THE BASIL A BIT & MIXED W/ THE SLICED TOMATOES IN THE PAN OVER MEDIUM HEAT. JUST LONG ENOUGH TO GIVE THE BASIL GOOD FLAVOR, BUT NOT LONG ENOUGH TO LOSE THE SHAPE OF THE TOMATO. WILL PROBABLY MAKE THIS ONCE A MONTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
The chicken was delicious, I will definitely make this again! I think next time I will use some feta cheese instead. But overall it was great, I served it up with some yellow rice and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States