Balsamic Chicken and Fresh Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I was totally surprised at how delicious this was. The only thing I did differently was to bake the chicken and add the mozz during the last five or so minutes. It's light and summery and EASY. I'm breaking this one out for the in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
We liked this! Good and easy! Hubby gave it the thumbs up. Did cut into tenders (4 breasts) - Marinated from breakfast to dinner with balsamic dressing (1/2 bottle). Cooked for 30 min on 350. Repeating like others, use FRESH mozzarella only!! I topped before serving with cheese, basil, then tomato, balsamic and S and P. Next time I may drizzle a little dressing on it, warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I am a big fan of caprese salad (tomato and fresh mozzarella) and this recipe is exactly that but with chicken added. Reading some reviews here about melting the mozzarella cheese leads me to believe some people are not using the correct kind of cheese. You must use FRESH WATER PACKED mozzarella or in a pinch can use the plastic wrapped fresh mozzarella but even that is a bit too dry and hard for caprese. Shredded dry mozzarella will not work in this recipe. I modified slightly by using thin cut chicken breasts which cuts down the cooking time for a quick and easy meal. I also threw in some pine nuts when cooking the chicken. Instead of drizzling the balsamic vinegar over the assembled top, I marinated the tomatoes in the vinegar while I cooked the chicken. I don't recommend marinating the mozzarella as it absorbs the brown coloring and will taste fine but ruin the presentation. This makes a great light meal served with a ceasar salad and breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe is great! I marinated for just under24 hours and followed others' suggestions to melt the cheese a bit before serving. A big hit with my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was my dinner for our family night last night, once a week and we have to try a new dish...Very easy to make, everyone LOVED it! Thanks! I am a saucy girl so I made the balsamic into a reduction and served that overtop. Definitely going in the "Keeper" book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was tasty and my family liked it. They didn't LOVE it, but they ate it up and said they would eat it if I made it again. It is extremely hard to please all the different paletts in my house. My husband likes to eat healthy, so this scored with him. My daughter is like me, a meat and potatoes kind of gal, so this still worked due to the chicken and cheese. My toddler will eat anything, so this worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Not only was the recipe a cinch to make (as written), it was delicious and beautiful on the plate too. I found that the chicken had a nice mild balsamic flavor that went well with the tomato, basil and fresh mozzarella. Definitely will be a repeat recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made this for us and another couple for dinner one night and everyone loved it. I personally thought the flavor of balsamic was a little strong and would leave off any additional balsamic after the marinade. I took the advice of many reviewers and made these changes. I marinated the chicken for 24 hours and then baked the chicken. I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. Then I layered shredded mozzarella on top and placed in the oven for 5 more minutes so it would melt. I warmed the tomato and basil slightly in a skillet. Then I placed them on top of the chicken. I also drizzled balsamic on top and that is what I will not do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I liked the idea of this but the balsamic flavour didn't really come through. I put the chicken under the grill for a few minutes so the cheese could melt over the tomato. I had to splash balsamic all over the finished dish to give it some flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Great recipe! We've had it several times since I discovered the recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and baked the chicken, with the marinade, at 350 for 30 minutes. I then added the slice of mozzarella and broiled until melted, topped with tomato and basil just before serving. I could eat it multiple times a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States