Balsamic Chicken and Fresh Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
An average dish. I didn't have high expectations, given the fact that I thought this would be very "simple" tasting (i.e. without a lot of flavor). I like capresse salad, but usually as an "appetizer" preceding a more substantial (rich) Italian dish, so the fact that it is light usually doesn't bother me. I guess I am a "meat and potatoes" gal.... I marinated my chicken breasts for about 7 hrs. in 8 oz. of Marzetti's balsamic dressing (made half the recipe for my bf and I). Also cooked chicken as directed on low heat for about 30 minutes and had no problems with dryness. Served "capresse style" - topped with a slice of FRESH mozzarella, a fresh basil leaf and a slice of beefsteak tomato, a sprinkling of coarse salt and fresh "cracked" black pepper and a drizzle of balsamic. Try this with Oven Roasted Red Potatoes and Asparagus by THREDDIES (on this site) and some warm Italian bread with olive oil and fresh Parmesan for dipping. Overall good, but not great and won't make on a regular basis. Just not for me. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Husband's review: Good, but not great. I wished there was more flavor to the chicken, which was marinated 20+ hrs. Meat was moist. I'll try it again and maybe poke holes in the chicken to get more flavor infused. I actually baked it in the convection oven instead of pan-frying on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was really good. Due to a recent salmonella issue with tomatoes, I made a little salad with small balls of mozzarella and grape tomatoes with basil and balsamic vinegar, which i put over the chicken. Delish! I will try this recipe as it's written when I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This is one of my husband's favorites. It is very easy and it is always super moist. It is a great dish to serve for company. Not only does it taste great, but it has great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orosi, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
So very good and easy. Use the Mama's Balsamic Vinegarette like the member suggestion. I only marinated it for 4-6 hours and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Good solid easy recipe. I used very fresh tomatos, cheese and basil from the local farmers market and it turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Yummy recipe, very light and refreshing for a hot summers day. I made the changes as suggested by justaMOM and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I made this for the first time for a church dinner at my house. It came out pretty well. Several people said that they liked it. I am glad that I splurged for the fresh basil rather than using the dried. I also baked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. I wonder how it would taste if I had sauteed it. I was feeding several people so I bought two aluminum pans and used those for the baking. I would definitely make this again but I wonder what to serve it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Terrific!!! Great summer recipe! I used Paul Newman's Lite Balsamic dressing and grilled it instead of pan-frying. AMAZING! I'm going to try doing the reduction for a glaze - sounds wonderful! I also enjoyed this one so much that I will make it for my in-laws next time they're over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Great light summer dinner! I marinated the chicken, grilled it and followed the recipe topping it with the cheese, basil and tomato. Like another reviewer, I reduced some of the balsamic dressing for a nice warm drizzle over the top. Served it with toasted parmesan bread and roasted garlic. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States