Balsamic Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I prefer to add the seasonings in at the beginning...to cook off all the bacteria and increase the flavor. I knew the dish would be a bit bland to me, so I added a half teaspoon powdered mustard and a half teaspoon of cumin. Also---I always add lemon-juice into anything that browns, one tablespoon works well enough for most dishes. Then the end image wont look as bad as the photograph pictured. In the end...the dish was too vinegary for my taste-buds, so I drained it and tossed some parmesan and romano cheese on top. Now, I like it! When I make this again, I'm going to use half the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAVaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I've wanted to try these for a long time and today was the day! They were fantastic! I, too - roasted them at 375 for about 40 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes or so. I made 2 pounds of brussel sprouts and can't wait to have more of them tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I shall keep on searching for the perfect preparation of brussels sprouts, but this is a good one. At a holiday dinner, the bowl was emptied, and we look forward to having sprouts prepared this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
We inadvertantly made it with 1/2 the amount of brussel sprouts and all the rest of the ingredients the same. There were a lot of onions when the dish was finished. We served it with rice and it was a perfect meal. I sauted the onions in coconut oil instead of olive oil. I doubt that that would make any noticeable taste change. We will make this dish again. I would think that it would go well with pasta as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
pretty good! I followed Linda's review and roasted the sprouts and onions. I undercooked them a bit and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The sweetness of the carmelized onions with just a little tart from the balsamic vinegar makes this a delicious dish. The brussel sprouts lovers thought this was fantastic. Those who were not huge fans of brussel sprouts in the first place were not as enthusiastic, so I don't know if this recipe (or any other?) would be enough to bring about conversions. I used fresh brussel sprouts for this and skipped the garlic powder as there were already 2 cloves of fresh garlic in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
These were not a hit here. The 2 brussels sprouts lovers in the family said they were ok but wouldn't like to have them again. I don't care for sprouts but did try them & the balsamic just didn't mask the bitterness of the sprouts enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 10, November 2012 ~ I used fresh Brussel sprouts just picked from our garden. Hubby liked them and I thought they were good. I'm not a huge fan of Brussel sprouts but did like the addition of the onions and vinegar. Thanks Melissa for sharing your recipe. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
These are MMMMMM GOOD! I used frozen sprouts, added some butter, salt, pepper, garlic powder and nuke on high for 5 minutes and poured the vinegar over. Me and my girls Really liked this! Thanx Melissa! Will remember to make these again, soon:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group....This was ok! I guess maybe I didn't like the basalmic vinegar in this, as I felt it gave the sprouts an 'odd' taste. I did use white basalmic vinear, so i don't know if that would've made a difference, but I don't think it would have. My mom liked them, though. I was glad to try this for something different! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States