Balsamic Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I prefer Brussel Sprouts roasted and did that for this dish. I roasted the sprouts, slices of onion and slices of garlic tossed in the olive oil seasoned with sea salt and cracked black pepper at 375 till done. After roasting I tossed with balsamic vinegar, butter and used garlic powder to taste. I enjoyed it cooled down to room temp and liked the leftovers even more the next day after they chilled overnight. I'll make this again for sure! (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group....This was ok! I guess maybe I didn't like the basalmic vinegar in this, as I felt it gave the sprouts an 'odd' taste. I did use white basalmic vinear, so i don't know if that would've made a difference, but I don't think it would have. My mom liked them, though. I was glad to try this for something different! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
These are MMMMMM GOOD! I used frozen sprouts, added some butter, salt, pepper, garlic powder and nuke on high for 5 minutes and poured the vinegar over. Me and my girls Really liked this! Thanx Melissa! Will remember to make these again, soon:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 10, November 2012 ~ I used fresh Brussel sprouts just picked from our garden. Hubby liked them and I thought they were good. I'm not a huge fan of Brussel sprouts but did like the addition of the onions and vinegar. Thanks Melissa for sharing your recipe. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
These were not a hit here. The 2 brussels sprouts lovers in the family said they were ok but wouldn't like to have them again. I don't care for sprouts but did try them & the balsamic just didn't mask the bitterness of the sprouts enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The sweetness of the carmelized onions with just a little tart from the balsamic vinegar makes this a delicious dish. The brussel sprouts lovers thought this was fantastic. Those who were not huge fans of brussel sprouts in the first place were not as enthusiastic, so I don't know if this recipe (or any other?) would be enough to bring about conversions. I used fresh brussel sprouts for this and skipped the garlic powder as there were already 2 cloves of fresh garlic in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
pretty good! I followed Linda's review and roasted the sprouts and onions. I undercooked them a bit and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
We inadvertantly made it with 1/2 the amount of brussel sprouts and all the rest of the ingredients the same. There were a lot of onions when the dish was finished. We served it with rice and it was a perfect meal. I sauted the onions in coconut oil instead of olive oil. I doubt that that would make any noticeable taste change. We will make this dish again. I would think that it would go well with pasta as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I shall keep on searching for the perfect preparation of brussels sprouts, but this is a good one. At a holiday dinner, the bowl was emptied, and we look forward to having sprouts prepared this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I've wanted to try these for a long time and today was the day! They were fantastic! I, too - roasted them at 375 for about 40 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes or so. I made 2 pounds of brussel sprouts and can't wait to have more of them tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States