Balsamic Bleu Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy! This salad is great and has so many possibilities. I have made it with grilled chicken and grilled steak sliced thinly - and both were sensational! Another option is shrimp or crab. Once I was out of bleu cheese and I used feta and it was equally as good. I will make this again and again! 5 big stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Easy and quite good. Defintely a repeater. Use a good crumbled blue cheese. I added very thinly sliced red onion, just a bit and thought it was a good option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I've been making a similar salad to this for several years and I've been asked to bring it to potlucks. I only use mixed greens, and don't use the lemon juice. However, I do had a thin sliced apple (fuji, gala, etc). This really adds to the flavor. I do season the balsamic dressing with a little salt & pepper. EXCELENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Blair McGinness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Wonderful recipe...love bleu cheese but don't like all the fat of a creamy dressing...this works perfectly!! Have already used over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 11/19/11. I just made a test run as lunch for DD and me and we loved this, so it will be on our Thanksgiving menu. I used white balsamic vinegar so there was no muddy look to the salad thjat you get with dark balsamic. The walnuts play off the bleu cheese wonderfully - thanks for a great new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Made for recipe group. This is an alright salad, nothing wrong with it, but nothing real special. I agree that the dressing left something to be desired... I would add a pinch of sugar, I think. After my first couple of bites, the dressing was a bit too intensely vinegary for me. Toasting the walnuts would be an improvement too. Still this is fine as a basic salad and I'll probably make it again, adjusting the dressing a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Yummy. Sometimes I add cranberries. I never tried it with lemon juice, just oil and white vinegar. I sometimes use FIG white balsamic! This is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Recipe Group Selection: 19, Nov. 2011. I really liked this salad, but I LOVE bleu cheese. I made this in 2 individual bowls because I used feta cheese on my husbands (not a bleu cheese fan). I toasted the walnuts to bring out the flavor. The next time I make this I'll add dried cranberries, green onion and maybe a little tomato. We both enjoyed the dressing - it is a little on the tart side. Thought this was a good selection this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I gave this 4 stars because it was so fast to prepare. I enjoyed the salad, but the dressing was lacking a bit. I think I would like it better with the dressing from this site as well called Deliciously Sweet Salad with Maple, Nuts, blueberries. That is not the full name, but you can find it if you search with that title. I will make this salad again if I have had one of those really bad days at work, and I am too tired to prepare something more time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this for the recipe group selection of 11-19th, I gave four stars for being quick and easy on a hectic night. I used pecans instead of walnuts. It would be easy enough to throw in some dried cranberries which would make a great addition. The dressing was pretty plain and you could easily add some herbs to spark it up. I would make it again when in a pinch for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States