Balinese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I absolutely love to try different recipes and especially ones that come from mothers. :) This recipe is to die for! I'll never make my hot wings the same! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
My family really liked this, although I had to improvise a little. I used 1tsp of ground tumeric and 1 1/2 tbs ground red pepper. I also started it on the grill, grilled it for about 20 minutes, then ran out of propane, and moved it to the oven, covered in foil at 450 for about 20 min. I also did some chicken breasts with the wings, and they were really good. I served it with a rice dish I do and a tossed green salad. I was thinking about adding some vinegar or wine to the marinade next time to add a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I modified this recipe slightly to marinade chicken thighs and it turned out wonderful. Of course, they took a bit longer to cook, but they were worth the wait. I left out the sugar because of personal tastes and replaced it with about a tablespoon of tomato juice. Also added some extra pepper. The chicken was really juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The flavor is a nice change from the traditional wings. I was afraid I would make the marinade too spicy and only used one red pepper (double the recipe). Not spicy at all, will use 2 peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were awesome. They're our new favorite chicken wing style. The baking leaves them the perfect tenderness. Everyone, even the kids, loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe! The non-recipe thing always stops me from trying out different dishes. I used 1/2 tsp ground turmeric and 1/2 a medium onion for the shallot. Wonderful, wonderful. Thank you! UPDATED: I made it and the kids like it too! I didn't put the chili pepper so it's not spicy. This dish is full of flavor. I have to tell you that I'm Indonesian and now I know how to make this. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
marvelous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was delicious and I needed a use for fresh turmeric so it was perfect. I didn't think there was enough marinade but I stuck it all in a ziplock bag with the chicken and squished it a bit and after it sat in the fridge for a bit it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My family love these wings. Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I think the marinade was alright. The flavor was pretty mild overall and baking them makes it seem like you are eating roasted chicken instead of fried chicken, which is how I prefer my wings. Perhaps I could have broiled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States