Balela Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Yum! This dish was fantastic. The flavors tasted so fresh and blended with each other perfectly. I used all fresh veggies and herbs from my garden and it was so easy and fast to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
The mint and the jalapeno pepper really added some spark to the taste of this salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Like Lori, I came on here looking for Balela salad after trying it at Trader Joe's. I agree that this is far better, although theirs was good enough to inspire me to find a recipe! I'm not normally an ingredient snob, but this recipe demands the best ingredients possible. Grape tomatoes generally have more flavor than typical store bought tomatoes, so that is not an area I would skimp on by using diced tomatoes (or egad! canned!). It takes a few extra minutes to half those grape tomatoes, but well worth it, in my view. Use the best olive oil you can find. I might roll my eyes at that suggestion in another recipe, but for this one, your choice of oil is going to make a difference. Trader Joe's California olive oil was my choice for this. It has a strong, fresh, peppery flavor that complements the other ingredients perfectly. I suggest you make it exactly as written before changing anything. The feta cheese suggestion sounds tempting, but this recipe is so well balanced I would hesitate to modify anything. Perhaps offer it on the side?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Photo by Angelina Ban
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Delicious! I peeled my garbanzo beans, not , sure if that makes a difference or not...i just recently started to explore cooking Mediterranean foods. I also halved the recipe and left the seeds out of my jalapeno! I love the tangy flavor, might add some cumin next time that i saw in another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina Ban

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is better than the Balela Salad I bought at Trader Joe's! I did not include jalapeno (none on hand) but I used plenty of fresh ground pepper. I also think this salad is even better on the second day. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
i can't stop eating this because it is so delicious. i use a bit more parsley in my version and 1 package of the fresh mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Rieger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I recently took this to a potluck picnic at a winery. It was gone quickly, everyone loved it. I skipped the onion as I am not a fan of raw onion, and it wasn't missed. I substituted a serrano chile pepper as my jalepeno was very mild, and I did serve feta on the side as an option as Kevin suggested. The feta was a nice complement. I did like having it on the side as I think it could have gotten a bit liquified if it was in the salad all day. I also used fresh herbs and spices and good olive oil. It was a huge hit, everyone asked for the recipe. This is easy to pull together and a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. This was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is fantastic! I used less mint than was called for (only because I didn't have enough), did an extra tblsp of lemon juice and used a serrano pepper instead of a jalapeño because I like the flavor of serranos better. I think next time I will add another serrano but overall this is a great dish, fast, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Nice, fresh salad in the winter time. I made it for my lunch and it was great. (Not a fan of mint and it was good without out, in my view.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States