Balela Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Yum! This dish was fantastic. The flavors tasted so fresh and blended with each other perfectly. I used all fresh veggies and herbs from my garden and it was so easy and fast to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Like Lori, I came on here looking for Balela salad after trying it at Trader Joe's. I agree that this is far better, although theirs was good enough to inspire me to find a recipe! I'm not normally an ingredient snob, but this recipe demands the best ingredients possible. Grape tomatoes generally have more flavor than typical store bought tomatoes, so that is not an area I would skimp on by using diced tomatoes (or egad! canned!). It takes a few extra minutes to half those grape tomatoes, but well worth it, in my view. Use the best olive oil you can find. I might roll my eyes at that suggestion in another recipe, but for this one, your choice of oil is going to make a difference. Trader Joe's California olive oil was my choice for this. It has a strong, fresh, peppery flavor that complements the other ingredients perfectly. I suggest you make it exactly as written before changing anything. The feta cheese suggestion sounds tempting, but this recipe is so well balanced I would hesitate to modify anything. Perhaps offer it on the side?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
The mint and the jalapeno pepper really added some spark to the taste of this salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is better than the Balela Salad I bought at Trader Joe's! I did not include jalapeno (none on hand) but I used plenty of fresh ground pepper. I also think this salad is even better on the second day. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I recently took this to a potluck picnic at a winery. It was gone quickly, everyone loved it. I skipped the onion as I am not a fan of raw onion, and it wasn't missed. I substituted a serrano chile pepper as my jalepeno was very mild, and I did serve feta on the side as an option as Kevin suggested. The feta was a nice complement. I did like having it on the side as I think it could have gotten a bit liquified if it was in the salad all day. I also used fresh herbs and spices and good olive oil. It was a huge hit, everyone asked for the recipe. This is easy to pull together and a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angelina Ban
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Delicious! I peeled my garbanzo beans, not , sure if that makes a difference or not...i just recently started to explore cooking Mediterranean foods. I also halved the recipe and left the seeds out of my jalapeno! I love the tangy flavor, might add some cumin next time that i saw in another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina Ban

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is fantastic! I used less mint than was called for (only because I didn't have enough), did an extra tblsp of lemon juice and used a serrano pepper instead of a jalapeño because I like the flavor of serranos better. I think next time I will add another serrano but overall this is a great dish, fast, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Nice, fresh salad in the winter time. I made it for my lunch and it was great. (Not a fan of mint and it was good without out, in my view.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. This was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
i can't stop eating this because it is so delicious. i use a bit more parsley in my version and 1 package of the fresh mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Rieger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States