Balela Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is a great and quick recipe with lots of flavor. When I make it again, I will use red onions for more pop in flavor. I added an additional tablespoon of lemon juice and feta cheese this time around. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Like Lori, I came on here looking for Balela salad after trying it at Trader Joe's. I agree that this is far better, although theirs was good enough to inspire me to find a recipe! I'm not normally an ingredient snob, but this recipe demands the best ingredients possible. Grape tomatoes generally have more flavor than typical store bought tomatoes, so that is not an area I would skimp on by using diced tomatoes (or egad! canned!). It takes a few extra minutes to half those grape tomatoes, but well worth it, in my view. Use the best olive oil you can find. I might roll my eyes at that suggestion in another recipe, but for this one, your choice of oil is going to make a difference. Trader Joe's California olive oil was my choice for this. It has a strong, fresh, peppery flavor that complements the other ingredients perfectly. I suggest you make it exactly as written before changing anything. The feta cheese suggestion sounds tempting, but this recipe is so well balanced I would hesitate to modify anything. Perhaps offer it on the side?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Yum! This dish was fantastic. The flavors tasted so fresh and blended with each other perfectly. I used all fresh veggies and herbs from my garden and it was so easy and fast to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This salad was delicious. Next time I will add a little more lemon juice and finely chopped tomatoes (or even a can of diced tomatoes) instead of halving grape tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Like some others, I tried this recipe after having Trader Joe's Balela Salad. This recipe is not exactly the same (Trader Joe's uses sumac spice) but is very tasty and I will make it again. I made this without the jalapeno and was happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I loved the ease of this recipe! I think I would use another white bean next time, and only one can of garbanzo. I am eating this for lunch this week. Would be great wth feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Freshly eaten, this is probably a 5 star salad in flavor. Eaten a day or two later and it tastes pretty poor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
The mint and the jalapeno pepper really added some spark to the taste of this salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
What a fabulous salad. So refreshing. I didn't have any garbanzos so I used white beans. They were a good substitute. So easy to make and such a zingy flavour. 100%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is better than the Balela Salad I bought at Trader Joe's! I did not include jalapeno (none on hand) but I used plenty of fresh ground pepper. I also think this salad is even better on the second day. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States