Balela Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
loved it! so easy and simple to follow, I definitely will make this again for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I came looking for this recipe after tasting a sample (and ultimately purchasing some) at Trader Joe's. I love the summery freshness of this salad and it's even better the next day after the flavors have a chance to meld. You definitely want to use fresh, not dried, parsley and mint. I liked the combination of the apple cider vinegar and lemon juice for the vinaigrette; however, I added a little liquid stevia (stevia is very concentrated so use cautiously) to balance the tartness. You could also use sugar or honey if you're not diabetic. As a matter of personal preference I didn't use or miss the jalapeno pepper. I also substituted Campari tomatoes (but wouldn't used canned) instead of grape and about a teaspoon of the refrigerated garlic paste instead of garlic cloves because that's what I had on hand. I saw where some substituted another bean for the garbanzo but I think the texture of the garbanzo adds a lot to this recipe. Last of all I added about 4 oz. of feta cheese. THIS IS SO GOOD!! For a truly Mediterranean meal I've even happily eaten it for breakfast or brunch with sardines or leftover fish! It's light but very satisfying and palate pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dara Rains

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Really good! The only change I made was leaving out the mint and it was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I thought this turned out almost exactly like the Trader Joes variety. I cooked the chickpeas first instead of using canned. Next time I would double the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Super awesome. What a great flavor combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Don't change a thing and remember that this just isn't a salad where you can substitute canned tomatoes or dried herbs and get the same flavor, fresh is the only way to go here on the veggies and herbs. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Loved it ! Healthy, has a little kick to it ! Will definitely do it again ! Keep it in the refrigerator at least a half an hour to allow the flavours to blend ! Great side dish, or just good on its own !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriss Ahrweiler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Perfect as is! I do hold the tomatoes out until I am ready to eat the salad. That way it lasts longer in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Very good! Added cucumbers and some sliced feta. Didn't have any mint, so I substituted with dill and chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. This was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States