Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Have made this recipe several times and have a faithful following of fans that think it is great. I have taught others how to make it, it is sort of like a kindergarten project putting it all together. The pastry brush suggestion someone made is a good one, it works well. Make sure your phyllo is fully thawed and be careful handling it is the only advice I have. Fun to make, great to eat. Great recipe. Never disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yéléna
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Loved it! I also added golden raisins soaked in sherry for 1h, and for the 1 pound of nuts I added 1/2 pound of pecans and 1/2 of pistachios. However, the sorbet (it's not really called sauce, this is baklava) was not enough. I made twice the amount so the baklava was nicely moist when we tried it (the baklava is not suppose to be a dry dessert, but quite moist even soaking in sorbet. Ask any Arabian or Turkish baker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great recipe and so easy to do! I'm not a baker at all, and everyone was impressed by this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I found this recipe about 5 years ago. I make it for Christmas now every year. I do add just a pinch of clove and some sugar to my nut mixture. I also make my syrup before I do anything else. I pour the cold syrup over the hot baklava and it just sucks the syrup right up. I always use the exact ingredients for everything else and everyone has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made a double batch, what an edeavor!!! Since nuts are so expensive I used 1/4 # dates and 3/4# nuts (8 oz pecans, 6 oz pistachios, and 2 oz cashews), for the sauce I used raw honey, turbinado sugar, and zest from 2 lemons. I 1.5x the sauce recipe and chilled it while I made and baked the pastry. Next time will definitely try misting butter instead brushing, just have to figure a way to keep butter hot. Phyllo can be very tricky to work with as it is so delicate if you let it get too dry it will crumble, rip and tear and too moist it sticks to other sheets. Don't let it aggravate you, I go through and separate the sheets for each layer with plastic wrap before starting so I don't have to keep track of how many sheets I have put down and can gauge how much filling I have for each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was absolutely delicious. All you have to do is work fast and bake it for 40 minutes instead of 50 to get it to a nice golden crisp. For everyone who wrote bad comments about how this isn't real baklava, it is real. Baklava can be Arab or Greek. The Arab way does not have the cinnamon and vanilla flavor in it. It also uses pistachios instead of walnuts. Baklava is NOT Turkish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Love this recipe. I watch several videos on how to make baklava and this was the best, with the best instructions. It really made it easy to follow. It turned out delicious. I have several friends to vouch for this since they keep begging me to make it again. Thanks so much a keeper for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinogirl47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick Roberts
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
The first time I made it I lost track of time and burned it and it was STILL the most delicious dessert I've ever made. Seriously, it's amazing. Friends, family, EVERYONE asks for it. And it's one of the few recipes I can't add to. It's perfect as written. TIP: watch the video. It gives a few insider tips that are very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Excellent.... Really enjoyed this!!! Was easy to follow directions and had fun making it with the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skallay
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Wow, my wife still thinks I bought it from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States