Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I easily make this vegan- just sub in Earth Balance for butter! I make it all the time and it's always a hit. I've made it both ways and ppl actually like it with EB instead of butter better. (I don't tell them). I use half walnuts and half pistachios and also add a pinch of cardamom and nutmeg. It's my most popular recipe. Five stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cliff Miller
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Brother Ricky went around & round over cool pastry covered with hot sauce vs cool sauce poured over hot pastry. A search of the oracle found it doesn't matter, as long as it's either or, but not the same. This turned out great and after pulling a piece of to snap it's pic the question arose... "will it last through the night?" My friends... only time will tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Drjones
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This turned out perfectly! I will be giving it for Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drjones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I did cool the syrup before I poured it on the baklava, and I added lemon zest to the syrup while It was cooking. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkey473

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is my favorite baklava recipe. I keep coming back to it again and again. It always gets lots of praises. I use 1/4 walnuts and 3/4 pistachios. I only use about 1/3 cup of butter. Make sure to cut it BEFORE you bake. When I make the sauce, because we have our own hives, I use 1 cup of honey and 1/2 cup succanut. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I have used this recipe a few times and I always get rave reviews. I prepare the sauce and the nuts ahead of time. I double the nuts and cinnamon. Also, like others have suggested I use 1 1/2 of the suggested serving for the sauce. I've discovered that a cup of butter is way too much. I would probably only use half of that. If you use too much butter it gets soggy. If you have everything ready ahead of time I have found you don't need to put anything on the phyllo dough to keep it from drying out because the process goes pretty quickly. I usually use the phyllo dough that comes in two rolls. I leave the second roll in the package until I'm ready for it. Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jorie71

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Awesome recipe and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Shelton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Never made baklava before so I tried this a couple of days ago and was a big hit. I did 1.5 batch of the syrup as suggested. I found I needed 2 packets of antoniou fillo pastry (I had lots of wastage from cutting around the edge to fit my pan). I bought raw mixed nuts and roasted them for about 10 minutes , tossing them half way through. It did take me about an hour to construct but the layering was easy to do and somewhat therapeutic :) I rate the success of this recipe on my Greek born father who absolutely loved it so to me it's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
amazing. only did half the recipe , cut into 16 triangles . did 1.1/2 quantity of syrup and did add lemon . important to make syrup first so as to let it cool to pour on hot baklava
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
WOW. Not nearly as hard as I thought it would be to make, and the best I've ever tasted. This was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States