Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is super easy and is very tasteful! Make sure you cove the phyllo with a damp towel every time you are not getting a piece to use. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevon Crick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Loved this recipe, I thought it was pretty easy and it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Wow... so easy! I have never used phyllo dough before so I paid very close attention to the directions on how to handle it. I like the advice about laying it over the edge and folding and only cutting to *near* the bottom. Next time I will do that. The one thing I saw in other recipes was the addition of lemon juice or zest. I can understand how that helps to mellow and cut the sharpness of all the sugar so I did add it. In fact, I used 7/8C of water and 1/8 C of lemon juice with the sugar when I boiled down the syrup. FANTASTIC idea. It's beautiful and delicious. 10 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
First attempt at making this dish - everyone loved it and said I nailed it. Better than store bought any day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is the first time I've made baklava and it was so easy to make and delicious too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Awesome recipe! Just double the sauce and wait until it gets cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlan McConnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have never made baklava before, this is wonderful! And the second day it is even better! Wayyyyy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Brazil
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I need to say that it was my FIRST TIME making baklava.Thank you Neonwillie for the recipe ??and thank you All Recipes for the video. This recipe was judt perfect in every way. It worked so perfectly that nobody could believe it was my first time doing it. The honey sauce was thick and delicious. It's a nice recipe to bring to someone's home when invited. I can not express enough my appreciation. Thank you thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. I have brought it to a lot of office and holiday parties, and everyone raves. One Greek person said it was better than his mother's (shhh). I do only use 1/2 lb walnuts and one roll of the phyllo dough (so, 8oz). It makes for thinner baklava, but it's very crispy and manages to soak up all of the syrup. I'm surprised that people have written about cooling the syrup. I boil it for the last 20 minutes the baklava is baking (YES definitely pre-cut - use a *very* sharp knife so the phyllo doesn't rip or slide), and then you pull the baklava out of the oven and pour the boiling syrup over it immediately...it will run down all the cracks between the diamonds. As it cools, the syrup becomes thicker and is soaked up by the crispy phyllo. Yummmmm. (I am making it again right now...waiting for the first 30 mins to be up so that I can boil the syrup!) Oh, my pastry brush was kind of rough. I actually use a Bare Minerals blush brush (new and shampoo'd before using). The soft bristles barely disturb the phyllo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrington, Maine, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mindayree
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was my second attempt at making baklava. The first time was I used AltonBrown's recipe and it was an epic failure. so a lot of time went by before I was brave enough to give it another go. I have renewed confidence since making this version. It was very easy and simple. And I wouldn't call it time consuming either, I thought it came together pretty quickly. I generally like to make a recipe exactly as stated the first time I make it, and then go back and read the reviews to see what adaptations other people have made. Some people are absolutely brilliant in the kitchen (I'm not one of them). In this case
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States