Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
OMG!!! This was absolutely delicious and exactly how I remembered it growing up! I used half walnuts and half pecans finely chopped in my food processor, which made this step so easy. As others suggested, I added 2 T. sugar and 1/2 t. more cinnamon to the nut mixture. Others also suggested giving it a more honey flavor so I added 1/4 C. honey to the sauce. I enjoy honey so this addition was a good one for me. If you are not a real honey fan, then you should not add the additional honey. I refrigerated the sauce to cool it off before pouring it on the hot out-of-the-oven baklava. After baking, the top phyllo layers were crispy and light - not soggy. Before baking, I tried to cut only through most of the layers to the bottom of the pan before pouring the sauce over it - its hard to judge, but made the effort. I did not toast the nuts-it tasted fabulous anyway. I baked only about 45 minutes - came out perfect. My husband and daughter who are not baklava fans liked it. My son and I LOVED it! This is not a low calorie dish, remember, but it is absolutely worth making. I ate 4 in two days - not a good idea for the waistline. I froze the other half of the recipe as others suggested. So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBIEDH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Flippin Amazing!! I made this, gave it to my mother inlaw and she told me she could only eat 2 pieces. That night she called me and said she ate the entire thing in one sitting! She said it's the BEST Baklava she's ever eaten. Yes! She wants me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
10 star recipe! This is just amazing, I took the baklava to a football party and everyone loved them and wanted the recipe, I made them exactly to your recipe, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I love the flavor of this baklava, but it turned out a bit soggy. I suspect I used too much butter on the phyllo layers, as I ran out about 2/3 of the way through assembly. Next time, I'll go a little lighter. I used a mix of pecans, walnuts, and peanuts, but I think next time I will stick with pecans only. I don't think the texture of the peanuts was quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Just made this. It is good but I didn't care for the vanilla in the syrup. Have had baklava over the years in many Greek diners in NJ and none ever tasted like they had vanilla in it. Was somewhat disappointed after all the work that went into this. When I make this again, I will not use the vanilla nor will I use so many nuts. It seemed as if I had too much... Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I use half pecans and half walnuts, as well as adding lemon juice and zest into the sauce. My father-in-law, who is Greek, has told me it is the best Baklava he has ever eaten because it isn't overpowering with sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe & tastes just like what we had in Greece & Turkey (moreso in Turkey, the shops are everywhere, with Turkish Delight!)...never mind the syrup is thin, it's better after it has cooled & soaked for a day (store at room temp) & there is no trace of syrup left because it has all soaked in! Thank you for sharing this great recipe! I hint of orange or lemon zest might add an interesting essence, I'll have to try it, but it's delicious without & I never noticed orange or lemon flavor in Turkey or Greece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I don't have any tips to add, but for the baklava/phyllo rookies like me, don't worry if the phyllo breaks or tears doesn't fold right as you assemble. It still turns out great and you can't tell after it's baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANVASWRITER
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Make the sauce first, in fridge. I also make 1 1/2 times sauce. Also add1/2 tsp. of Almond extract with vanilla. Pulse the nuts in food processor. Add 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon, dash of nutmeg and cloves to the nut mixture. I use one of the two packages of Phyllo dough first, leaving the other in the refrigerator still in it's plastic wrap. I don't bother with the towel/plastic wrap, I work quickly so the dough doesn't dry out. When I'm done with the first package, I take out the second and do the same. I have found I need about three sticks of butter when buttering the leaves of dough. I use a 2 inch brush, and I hold the corners and do the Outside of the leaves first which locks down the leaf then I quickly do the insides. Don't cut all the way to the bottom, about 1/2 inch from the bottom so the liquid doesn't sit in the bottom of the pan and bottom is still crisp. Don't use too much butter, that is another cause for sogginess. Pour cooled sauce on the hot Baklava and let sit cool, Finish cutting all the way through. Store in a shallow cardboard box lined with parchment I use shirt gift boxes. I also freeze some for later, it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Syrup needed orange peel, but great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States