Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I did cool the syrup before I poured it on the baklava, and I added lemon zest to the syrup while It was cooking. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkey473

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is my favorite baklava recipe. I keep coming back to it again and again. It always gets lots of praises. I use 1/4 walnuts and 3/4 pistachios. I only use about 1/3 cup of butter. Make sure to cut it BEFORE you bake. When I make the sauce, because we have our own hives, I use 1 cup of honey and 1/2 cup succanut. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I have used this recipe a few times and I always get rave reviews. I prepare the sauce and the nuts ahead of time. I double the nuts and cinnamon. Also, like others have suggested I use 1 1/2 of the suggested serving for the sauce. I've discovered that a cup of butter is way too much. I would probably only use half of that. If you use too much butter it gets soggy. If you have everything ready ahead of time I have found you don't need to put anything on the phyllo dough to keep it from drying out because the process goes pretty quickly. I usually use the phyllo dough that comes in two rolls. I leave the second roll in the package until I'm ready for it. Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jorie71

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Awesome recipe and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Shelton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Never made baklava before so I tried this a couple of days ago and was a big hit. I did 1.5 batch of the syrup as suggested. I found I needed 2 packets of antoniou fillo pastry (I had lots of wastage from cutting around the edge to fit my pan). I bought raw mixed nuts and roasted them for about 10 minutes , tossing them half way through. It did take me about an hour to construct but the layering was easy to do and somewhat therapeutic :) I rate the success of this recipe on my Greek born father who absolutely loved it so to me it's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
amazing. only did half the recipe , cut into 16 triangles . did 1.1/2 quantity of syrup and did add lemon . important to make syrup first so as to let it cool to pour on hot baklava
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
WOW. Not nearly as hard as I thought it would be to make, and the best I've ever tasted. This was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I thought the recipe was great to follow and everyone loved the baklava but I thought it was a little dryer than ones I've tried in the past. I like the more moist ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
The end result is worthy of 5 stars, but since I took other reviewers advice, the recipe as written gets four. Fabulous base recipe. I did add a little squeeze of lemon and it's zest and increased syrup by a half, making it in advance so it could cool before pouring it over the hot baklava. It makes a key difference. I've made this several times, and everyone who eats it proclaims that it's the best baklava they've ever eaten, anywhere! Yes,it does take time and care to make, but I consider it a labour of love, especially when I gift whole pans of it to people I care about when they need cheering up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
so yummy! it tastes just like the one I buy in Astoria, NYC. I followed the tips from other reviewers...I made the sauce first. I used my food processor to "chop" the nuts and I cut the pastry with a wet knife, it makes a difference. I was delicious and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States