Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is my mans favorite dessert. I made this for his birthday. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I had some amazing baklava in Olympia when I was in Greece just over a month ago and had a craving so had to try to make it. This recipe was really quite easy and delicious. I didn't need to cover the dough as that took up more time than just layering and buttering quickly. I made 1 1/2 times the sauce with the extra of honey and less water, orange and lemon peel and the sugar with the toasted nuts as other reviewers suggested. I have a hint that might help everyone. The baklava that I bought in Greece had cloves stuck into the top surface. It made it very pretty, added great flavor and made cutting the baklava super easy as it held the top sheets in place. Just stick the whole cloves in the pastry so one will be in the center of each piece when cut. I did also freeze for 15 minutes before cutting half way through and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I followed the recommendations made by others (made an extra 1/2 recipe of the syrup, lowered the temp) and it came out great! Everyone loved it! Some people said they didn't taste the honey as much as other ones that they have had, but I could taste it. Overall, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sprouts!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I use half the nuts and double up on the honey. Love this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made baklava for the first time with this recipe, and a came out so well! I used half measures of the ingredients, since I was making it for a smaller party. Some tips to emphasize: 1) Melt the butter beforehand, and use a pastry brush to spread it on the dough. I first used a teaspoon to target general areas of dough, and the used the brush to spread it around. 2) Before you put your layers in the oven, be sure to cut the dough. I made it into squares with solid success. 3) This makes a lot of baklava. I made 24 squares even with half the recommended measures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Easy and delish. Made 1/2 recipe in an 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
After reading everyone's reviews I made 1.5x the amount of sauce, cooled the sauce before pouring it into the hot baklava. This made the baklava intensely sweet, but still very good. Next time I think I'll go with the prescribed amount of sauce so it's not so rich. This recipe calls for an obscene amount of butter. You only need to spread enough butter on the layers to so that they are barely covered. I melted the full cup of butter, and when I was finished I probably didn't use half of it. Next time I'll melt half a stick of butter, then melt more butter as necessary. I used almonds and pecans and it was wonderful. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
WOW. THIS WAS FANTASTIC. Two inexperienced bakers here (aka college kids) were able to pull this off with ease on the first try! We followed the directions for the most part, but did create the sauce before anything else then chilled it in the fridge. We also didn't cut all the way through before adding sauce. Our nut mixture was 10oz of walnuts 6oz of almonds. Make sure the phyllo dough is thawed out all the way before working with it, or it will crumble and flake apart. We didn't use the damp towel. Made 16 triangles. Watching the video beforehand was helpful to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Too sweet! cut the sugar, and up to 3/4 cup honey. or jet reduce sugar. Keep watch to make sure it doesn't burn. I didn't quite reach 50 minutes. Negatives aside, tastes very good and traditional. Brought it in for a Greek history presentation in English class and everyone loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake-a-holic
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Amazing!!! i come from a persian background so this went down a treat! Will definetly be making loads more! just be aware, this recipe certainly makes much more than 18..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States