Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was AMAZING! I made one and a half times the syrup and kept everything else the same. I used chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was the first time my wife and I ever made Baklava. It was a bit of work and we were worried but it was a hit. From our more fickle baklava eating friends to our first time eaters--this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is amazing! I followed the modifications recommended by the other reviewers and it was so super good. I used walnuts and hazelnuts and roasted them. I made (1.5times) the sauce beforehand and let it cool while I made the baklava. I worked quickly with the phyllo dough, so I didn't use a damp towel to cover it, but I did cut it to the length of my pan. I have a nice silicon pastry brush that was perfect for spreading the melted butter on the pastry sheets. I cut the baklava before I baked it, but I didn't cut all the way through. I let it cool for about 30 minutes before pouring the sauce over it. It turned out so super good! I will definitely, definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rexi
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Absolutely scrumptious! Easy to make, but very very time consuming. You must have patience for this recipe, but it pays off in flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Definitely a good recipe. I have a similar one from a Turkish neighbor I got some time ago. Pro Tip: Make the syrup a little bit in advance and put it in the fridge until you're ready to bake. Also! It gives it an extra something if you boil the syrup with two small sticks of cinnamon and a fresh lemon slice. Happy Baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is my favorite thing to make, it makes people happy when I make this. I haven't met anyone who didn't LOVE this recipe. After the first time you make this the process will move along faster. I like to add more layers of phyllo dough than called for. Sometimes If i have it I will add some lemon zest to the syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I just made this for the first time and it's very good! I followed the advice of reviewer Sandra Lee who's been making this for 30 years along with the posted recipe. The changes I made on advice from Sandra were the amount of butter. I used only about an 1/8 of a cup at most, not one cup as the recipe suggests! The reduction in butter did not take away from the end result one bit. I also did not cut through to the bottom of the pastry before cooking but to within a half inch, also on advise from Sandra Lee. This produced an evenly moist product. I also used more honey in the sauce as suggested by yet another reviewer. That added a rich honey flavor. All family members loved this, even ones who haven't cared for store bought in the past. Delicious! Thank you Sandra Lee for the expert advise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
So Simple to make, I ground nuts in food processor and did extra syrup which I made and cooled the night before. I also put the finished product in freezer for ten minutes before making cuts. Someone actually asked where they could buy this from...was a huge hit..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maidstone, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was SO good! And easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States