Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Ninaki
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I use always walnuts and I also put cinnamon sticks in the syrup .one important thing is to let the baklava cool down and then poor the hot syrup above and let it soak for a couple hours this is to keep the baklava crunchy and still juicy inside give it a try .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninaki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I am new in the kitchen and made this for a company party. Everyone thought I was a pro! The dough was a little difficult to work with and it was more time consuming then I had thought but I throughly enjoyed making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Great recipe I love it. My husband is greek and he could not stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Count me among the people who thought there was a mystery behind making Baklava, and was too mystified to attempt making it myself. This recipe simplifies it and makes even the novices among us feel like Greek Baklava gods and godesses. I make the recipe as is, with the addition of a 1/2 tsp of ground cardamon in the nuts. It adds a "bright" flavor. To make the drudgery of of buttering the layers easier, I re-purposed an empty bottle of spray "margarine" to use as a butter sprayer. Every 2nd layer, I spritz the sheet down. Works likea charm--just the right amount of butter. Even if you're on the fence about making this version, I say go for it. It's quicker than you think, easier than you could guess, and tastes heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is the BEST baklava EVER. The ones I've purchased at Middle Eastern bakeries do not use butter and that's what makes baklava rich and flavorful and tasty. It's better with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
love Baklava! however to make cutting easy, chill finished baklava (prior to baking) in fridge... Makes cutting super easy! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Fantastic recipe that really impresses guests. Lemon zest in the syrup makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
worked really well my class loved it. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
i used only half the phyllo dough and 1lb chopped pecans for the nuts!! delicious! my mother inlaw said its the best she has had in all her 45 something years!!!!! i use a spoon to distribute the butter then just lather the dough yumm make sure its good quality dough bc i got the generic brand (only kind they sold) and wasn't as great as the 1st 2x i made it ;) worth trying!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savannah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This recipe is extremely close to what I do when I "wing it" using the ingredients and steps my mom used for years. Here are few points, some of which others have made and which you can take or leave but they work for me: - keep the melted butter well stirred between brushing sheets. Butter is about 15% water and if you start brushing too much of that aqueous portion you'll make it soggy. You could clarify the butter but there is quite a bit of flavor in the water and dissolved solids so I don't. - I add both sugar and vanilla extract to the chopped nuts. A few tablespoons of sugar and a couple teaspoons of vanilla seem about right. - do not cut the baklava all the way to the bottom before baking. Cut down to the last solid layer of phyllo. This helps the syrup spread throughout the baklava instead of pooling on the bottom. When it is ready to serve cut all the way through. - a few notes on the syrup: I don't think this recipe calls for enough. I use about 1.5x & no honey. Add the juice of half a lemon to the syrup before boiling. Do NOT add the vanilla until the syrup is cool. Simmer the syrup until it is thick enough to coat the back of a metal spoon. You'll know it when you see it. Chill the syrup until refrigerator cold. Add vanilla and either rose or orange blossom water - a couple tablespoons is plenty - and stir in thoroughly. I use rose water. Try World Market for those. Hot bakalava + ice cold syrup OR cooled bakalava + warm syrup = not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States