Baklava II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Being Greek Orthodox I took al the shortcuts my mom does, add some buttter to the nut recipe then you dont have to butter so much between the Phillo, and u dont have to thaw the Phillo out all the way it handles better partially thawed, simmer your syrup for at least 2 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
To echo someone earlier: This Is It. I've been dreaming of this recipe since the first time I tasted baklava, homemade by my best friend's mom 13 years ago :) After many disappointments from other recipes and storebought baklava, this is the sweet stuff that I remember -- so if you don't like sweet, check out another recipe. My tip: do NOT generously butter every single layer, or it'll end up dripping butter -- not the ideal baklava. I'll try spray butter next, or every 2 layers. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
completely delicious! i was afraid to try it because it sounded difficult. i was happy to find out that it was not difficult, just time consuming. AND well worth the time and effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This was a wonderful recipe! A couple tips are, Make sure to keep the phyllo dough covered with a damp cloth, or it drys out. Also I took out 1/2 cup of the butter and 1/2 sugar and it was great. I don't think that it would be any better if I had put it all in. Thanks so much for the recipe! There's only one BIG problem with it... I CAN'T STOP EATING IT!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
wow!! this is a great recipe. I had never worked with phyllo dough before and was scared, but it turned out okay! (just keep it covered with plastic wrap) I also did not brush every single layer with butter, just the top of each of the 4 (Although brushing the last couple layers would make it easier to cut). I also subbed the almonds for 1/2 pecans, 1/2 walnuts and added a little cardamom to the nut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I am not known as a great cook but I certainly impressed my sister in laws with this one! It was easier than I thought & turned out beautifully. If I can make this, anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I made this recipe for my works christmas party, and now everyone wants the recipe. It is not very hard to make, just real time consuming like CAMILLE_LT had stated before. Thanks for the recipe Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I was just wondering if anyone else had the amount of nuts left over that I did???will have enough to make many more desserts. Seems great though, it is in the oven as I write this.Thanks for the recipe, I have been looking for this, for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This is by far the best baklava. delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
EXCELLENT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States