Baklava II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Has anyone tried to freeze this recipe and use later? I have a big party and want to make some desserts ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
It was fairly easy and tasty. I made just a tad bit extra syrup as a couple of the reviews said it was dry. I was unsure if I was supposed to butter the top so I only brushed on a little. Learn from my mistake and brush every other layer on top. The top was a little too crisp and didn't stick to the rest of it. It was still good, you just had to hold the top on. I copied another reviewer and added a little brown sugar to the nut mixture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this 2 christmases ago and was talking about making it again. People who I didn't even know who tried it that night remember it and tell me how good it was, still. I tried Baklava in 2003 and I didn't know where I could buy it until I found this recipe, I can marinate in the yummyness of this treat. That night 2 years ago, it was gone before I could grab a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Thanks so much for a great recipe! No Greek restaurant has yet come close, where we live at least, even if they say it's made there by Greeks, it's not nearly as good. This comes so close to what we had in Turkey! So tasty and syrupy! An added note...I made it for Thanksgiving, or so I thought, but the pan is empty! Just in case you don't have unsalted butter or almonds as I didn't, no one noticed that I used salted butter and walnuts which I normaly do. My one son and husband couldn't get enough of it. I'd give it more stars if possible. Thanks to Stephanie suggesting the dough can be partially frozen, I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This is excellent and yummy.The tob few layers didn't stick together, I am wondering if thi is because i put much less butter on top than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This recipe is soooo good! I find that I don't need to leave it in the oven as long as it says though, until golden brown is right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was my 1st attempt at making baklava. I already had nuts hanging around the kitchen, so, I decided to mix the almonds with pistachios. I didn't have the 1 1/2 lbs this recipe called for, so, I used half the amount. ( 4oz almonds and 4 oz pistachios and it was enough to do 6 layers using 1/3 of a cup mixture between each ) I also put them into a coffee grinder for almost a ''coffee grind'' texture. The only other small thing I had to change was the lemon. I didn't have any fresh lemon, so, I just put a few dashes into the syrup. It's a long process, but, it was worth every minute!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSUDDZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
So good and not as hard to make as it seems. I made it for my husbands Christmas party at work and he received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This was my first attempt at Baklava and it was way easier than I thought it would be. I used a combo of pecan and almonds for the nuts and it tasted great. I didn't quite use all of the sauce but at least I had enough. I plan on making this frequently now that I have this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Being Greek Orthodox I took al the shortcuts my mom does, add some buttter to the nut recipe then you dont have to butter so much between the Phillo, and u dont have to thaw the Phillo out all the way it handles better partially thawed, simmer your syrup for at least 2 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States