Baklava I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I make Baklava every year for the Holidays. I decided to try this recipe. I normally layer my dough 2 sheets at a time, with the nut mixture, and butter (real butter only) every sheet of Phyllo. I also use lemon juice and honey in the sauce which I think is VERY important. This just turned in to a pile of chopped overly sweet nuts. There are much better Baklava recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I switched the syrop from the Baklava recipe and used butter instead of marg and oil...was very good and... like my wife said, " it's idiot proof". Try it and don't be offended by the label above as you will be seen as a hero after doing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Yum! My husband and I ate the whole thing (not good, I know!) One thing I might change is maybe take out about a quarter of the walnuts because it has a very thick center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Leaving the honey out wasn't so good. The honey is the key ingredient to this irressible greek favorite. This would be perfect with the honey in it. The honey adds the most flavor along with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I thought this recipe was great. It was surprisingly easy and delicious. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chadwicks, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Good recipe--a friend of mine made baklava from this recipe... One thing I would change would be to use melted butter instead of margarine. I have been using a recipe from my Greek cookbook for years and it just seems to taste better with butter. Also, after cutting into diamond shapes I put a clove in each piece before baking. It adds just a hint of flavor and it looks nice too! But remember to remove the clove before eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
this is good stuff. I followed the recipe to a T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This recipe was very easy to make, and discounting the actual baking time, was quite quick. It was a little too sweet for me, and the next time I make it I'll probably cut back on the sugar used in the sauce, but it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
My friends and I were getting together for Greek nite and I decided to try this Baklava recipe. It was absolutely delicous. I was told that it tastes exactly like the Baklava from Greece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2000
This was delicious, it is my husband's favorite dessert and now I can make it at home. Once we drove around for an hour looking for a place that sold Baklava, now we won't have to do that anymore!!! We gave it away to several friends who called back to rave about it. Thanks sooooo much. Kerry Bennett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States